Skip to main content

UW-STOUT ARCHIVES AND AREA RESEARCH CENTER: Area Research Center Collections

The University of Wisconsin-Stout Archives collects and preserves the records of the University of Wisconsin-Stout and its predecessors. It also serves as an Area Research Center for Dunn, Barron, and Pepin Counties in Wisconsin.

UW-Stout Area Research Center Indexes

The Area Research Center at the UW-Stout holds official county records

(e.g. land records, naturalization certificates) from Barron, Dunn, and Pepin counties.  

 

Research Indexes

Search these databases for more information on select years from the following publications from Dunn, Barron, and Pepin Counties:

  • Newspaper Index Birth/death/probate notices from Barron, Dunn, and Pepin County newspapers,1862-1930
  • County Court Records Index  Circuit/county courts, probates, naturalizations, and funerals between 1855 and 1955

Request Research Assistance

  • Request records, newspaper articles, and research assistance

Research Resources

The following resources provide access to a variety of public records and indexes.

Full Text County Digital Collections

Dunn County Indexes:

Cemetery Indexes

Evergreen Cemetery Index

  • Evergreen Cemetery is located in section 24 of Menomonie Township in Dunn County, Wisconsin. This cemetery, the largest in the county, was organized in 1873 by the Knapp, Stout & Co. Company. This collection includes all recorded burials from 1873 to 2003. The information was compiled from Evergreen Cemetery Records by Carolyn C. Ohnstad.

Church and Cemetery Microfilm Index

  • ​Index to the records of 133 churches and cemeteries housed on microfilm reels. These records date from 1861 to 1979 and include records in a variety of languages.

Dunn County Cemetery Index

  • Headstone transcriptions of cemeteries in Dunn County, Wisconsin from 1850s to 1994. Compiled by Dunn County Genealogical Society and UW-Stout University Archives.