Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Video and Film
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Newspaper Source Plus includes the New York Times full text
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Art Full Text Flash Tutorial
- Humanities Full Text Flash Tutorial for Criticism
- OmniFile Full Text, 1982 to date
- Readers' Guide Full Text, 1983 to date
- Newsbank Access World News (newspapers)
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Print resources available at the University Library
- New York Times Film Reviews REF PN1995 .N4 Six volume set reproducing the feature film reviews from the New York Times 1913-1968. Vol. 6 contains index, including any actor, producer, director, etc., whose name appeared in the original article. For later reviews, use the New York Times Index (REFERENCE INDEX SHELVES) under such topics as MOTION PICTURES and RECORDINGS (VIDEO), or use online indexes and databases
- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature. 1900-1993 REFERENCE INDEX SHELVES Individual film titles are listed under the subjects MOTION PICTURE REVIEWS, VIDEOTAPE REVIEWS, etc.
- TCM International Film Guide REF PN1993.3 I545 Turner Classic Movie channel guide. Annual publication. 2008-
- Video Librarian. Shelved alphabetically in the Periodicals stacks, a monthly review of new films--documentaries, feature films and television series--in addition to new video games
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Desk Hours
MON-TH 9:00am-5:00pm & 6:00pm-9:00pm
FRI 9:00am-4:30pm
SAT 1:30pm-4:30pm
SUN 2:00-5:00pm & 6:00-9:00pm
Send Email
Last Revised
2/13/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait