Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Technology
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Business Source Premier
- Newspaper Source Plus
- Science Reference Center
- Textile Technology Complete
- ProQuest: ABI/Inform + Instructions
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- Business Full Text
- General Science Full Text
- OmniFile
- Emerald Library
- Engineering Village 2 - Compendex
- IEEE Explore
- CSA Illumina: Paperbase/Pira Collection
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Computer User.com
- Corante Tech News Filtered daily.
- Daily Rotation Links to latest tech news stories from over 250 sites.
- E-Commerce Times
- Intellectual Property and Technology Forum Boston College Law School.
- Journal of Technology Education
- MacWorld Online
- Midwest Technology Journal
- NCSA's Web Magazine NCSA Access Online.
- SciTech Daily Review
- Solid State Technology International magazine for semiconductor manufacturing.
- Spinoff From NASA, annual publication featuring successfully commercialized NASA technology.
- TechNewsWorld Technology news from around the world.
- Technology Review Also available fulltext in ABI/Inform and EBSCO.
- TechWeb Information Business technology network.
- T.H.E. Journal K-12 education technology.
- Yahoo!: News: Technology Summary
- ZDNet News
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- Iron and Steel Technology
- Journal of Research on Technology in Education
- Journal of Technology and Teacher
- Journal of Technology Education
- Research Technology Management
- Tech Trends
- Technology and Culture
- Technology and Learning
- Technology Review
- T.H.E. Journal (Technology Horizons in Education)
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
11/2/07



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait