Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Sociology and Social Work
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- CQ Researcher
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- ERIC Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide
- PsycINFO Flash Tutorial
- PsycARTICLES Flash Tutorial
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Consumer Health Complete
- Health and Medical Databases
- Health Source: Nursing
- FirstSearch + Instructions
- Alternative Press Index
- Contemporary Women's Issues
- JSTOR
- Lexis Nexis: Academic
- Project MUSE
- ProQuest: GenderWatch + Instructions
- Twentieth Century Advice Literature
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- ERIC (education)
- OmniFile
- Social Sciences Full Text
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Critical Social Work
- Current Research in Social Psychology
- Electronic Journal of Sociology
- IDEA: A Journal of Social Issues
- Journal of Artificial Societies and Social Simulation
- Journal of Criminal Justice and Popular Culture
- Journal of Social Structure
- Women & Environments International Magazine
- Western Criminology Review
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- American Journal of Sociology
- American Sociological Review
- Child & Adolescent Social Work Journal
- Families in Society
- Health and Social Work
- Journal of Health and Social Behavior
- Journal of Social Psychology
- Journal of Social Work Education
- Journal of Sociology and Social Welfare
- Rural Sociology
- Social Work
- Sociological Inquiry
- Sociological Quarterly
- Sociology of Education
- Youth and Society
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
1/7/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait