Ask A Librarian

Admin Sign In 

FIND IT! FAQ ARTICLE LINKING  Tags: article_linking_faq sfx_faq  

Last update: Jul 27th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uwstout.edu/sfxfaq  Print Guide  RSS Updates

DEFINITIONS             Print Page
  
 

What is Find it?

Find it! button

Find It! is a database management tool. Find It provides links from a citation in a database to the full text of that article, when it is available, and to other helpful resources and services -- such as the catalog. It is a quick way to find out whether the Stout Library has the online full text of an article.

Find it! enabled resources will display a Find it! button or the words SFX. Sometimes the vendor who supplies the database will allow us to use a customized button and it will look like this:

Find it! button

Sometimes the vendor who supplies the database isn't set up to handle customized buttons and will use a default button that looks like this:

SFX button


When you see Find it! or SFX in an electronic resource, you simply click on the button or the text to see a menu of options for the citation. These options include:

• Links that will lead you to the full text of an article, or to a screen where you can search for the full text of the article regardless of the content provider

• Automated searching of the library catalog for our print or electronic holdings

• Links to an Interlibrary Loan Request Form (ILLiad) for items that are not full text or available in the Stout Library

Find it! works very much like the "linking to full text" features we currently have set up for our indexing and abstracting databases. However, it will be better because it will provide many of the possibilities on one screen so that you don't have to jump from database to database searching for the links to full text. On that same menu it will also provide links to the Stout Library Catalog and Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to request articles that we don't have.

SFX stands for special effects and is a linking technology licensed by Ex Libris.

 

Reference Librarians

Profile ImageNeed Help?
This is a Meebo instant messaging widget. If your browser does not have the required plugin you can email Reference instead.


Contact Info:
715-232-1353

Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email

 

Last Revised

07/16/2009