Popular Search Engines
- bing
- Ask
- Yahoo!
- NoodleToolsChoose the best search tool for your information need.
MetaSearch Engines
Comparison Searching
- TwinginePuts Bing and Yahoo! results side by side
- BlindSearchPuts results side by side, but hides the name until you select a result
Audio/Video/Image Engines
- BlinkxVideos from 720 media partnrships
- Google Image Search(images)
- FlickrMany flickr users offer their work under a Creative Commons license. Browse or search by type of license for keyword.
- Picsearch(images)
- TimeLife Pictures(images)
- Wikimedia Commons(all)
- FindSounds
List of Search Engines
- PandiaAll-in-one list of search engines and directories. Includes: dictionaries, directories, discussions, encyclopedias, jobs, local search, mobile, music, online radio and podcasts, software, translation, video, yellow pages, people and email, news, shopping.
- The Search Engine ListComprehensive list of search engines; all-purpose, bit-torrent, blog, books, business, email, forum, people, international, job, maps, medical, metasearch, multimedia, news, open source, real estate, school, source code, usenet, visual
Scholarly Engines
- Google Scholar(journals)
- IntuteClosed July 2011
- OAIster
Subject Directories
- Yahoo! Directory
- Academic InfoAccredited online schools and universities
- InfomineScholarly internet resource collections: Bio, Ag & Med Sciences; Business & Economics; Cultural Diversity; Ejournals; PysSci, Engr, CS & Math
- Internet Public Library
- Open Directory ProjectHuman-edited index of web sites
- Voice of the Shuttle(VOS) Humanities research
- WWW Virtual Library
Special Feature Searching
Domain and Site Searching:
- Google Search FeaturesSpecial searches: definitions, sunrise, sports scores, earthquakes, local searches, and more
- SearchEdu.com(edu)
- SearchGov.com(gov)
- Yahoo Advanced Search.com .gov .edu .org
Statistics Searching:
- U.S. Census Bureau
- Fedstats
Language Searching:
- Google(advanced search)
Visual Search Engines:
- QuinturaCloud searching
Social Network Searching
- Bloglines
- Social MentionReal time social media search including video and photos
- snitchname.com"Social white pages"
- IcerocketReal time searcing of blogs, twitter, facebook and images simultaneously or individually
- QuixeyAn app search engine in beta that identifies apps with small logos for mobile devices.
- TopsySearch links, tweets, photos, videos; includes an extensive Twitter archive from May 2008
- Yahoo! App SearchApps for iPhone and Android; includes price, ratings, picture, and description
- PinterestOnline pinboard of photos and comments; login with Facebook or Twitter account to contribute
Reference Librarians |
Last Revised
02/03/2012




Loading...
