Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Risk Control and Safety
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- CSA Illumina
- Health and Safety Science Abstracts
- Risk Abstracts
- American Chemical Society Journals (ACS)
- Biological Abstracts
- BioOne
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Business Source Premier
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Consumer Health Complete
- Environment Complete
- GreenFILE
- Health and Medical Databases
- Health Source Nursing/Academic and Consumer
- Masterfile Premier
- Medline (medicine)
- Science Reference Center
- Emerald Library
- Engineering Village 2 (Compendex)
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts
- Knovel Library (select Search Knovel)
- Lexis Nexis: Academic
- Business Instructions
- Legal Instructions
- MD Consult
- Nursing Consult
- ProQuest: ABI Inform + Instructions
- Web of Science
- Science Citation Index
- Social Science Citation Index
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- Biological and Agricultural Index Plus
- Business Full Text
- General Science Full Text
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- At Work Newsletter from the Institute for Work & Health.
- EHS Today, the Magazine for Environment, Health and Safety Leaders
- Environmental Science and Technology Also available in Library Periodicals Collection, 2nd floor.
- Environmental Health Perspectives EHP Online.
- ASHN Industrial Safety and Hygiene News
- LifeLines Online From the Laborer's Health and Safety Fund of North America.
- NIOSH eNews
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- Applied Ergonomics
- Environmental Science and Technology
- Journal of Occupational and Environmental Hygiene
- Journal of Safety Research
- Occupational Hazards
- Occupational Health & Safety
- Occupational Safety and Health Reporter REF KF3569.36 .O25x
- Risk Management Magazine
- Safety + Health
- Waste Age
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
02/25/2009



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait