This is the "CONNECTING TO STOUT DATABASES" page of the "OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS TO LIBRARY DATABASES (REMOTE ACCESS)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UW-Stout Homepage University Library Homepage Ask a Librarian

OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS TO LIBRARY DATABASES (REMOTE ACCESS)   Tags: access_to_databases, instructions, off-campus_access, problems, remote_access  

Last Updated: May 1, 2012 URL: http://libguides.uwstout.edu/remote Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

CONNECTING TO STOUT DATABASES Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Who can use UW-Stout databases?

Stout Users Only Access to Library subscription databases is available to all students who are currently enrolled and to all currently enrolled faculty and staff.  Use the links on the Library Home page to find:

  • Articles and Databases.  Use the Articles and Databases link to select databases and search for articles.
  • Journal Titles.  Use the Journals A-Z List.
  • E-Books.  Use the E-Books link or connect to the Stout Library Catalog, then limit your search to E-Books. 
    NOTE: Off-campus patrons no longer need to select an "OFF-CAMPUS link to Library Catalog" to access e-books! 
 

An activated UW-Stout e-mail account is required for access to subscription databases

If you are not using a computer on campus, you will need to enter your UW-Stout e-mail username and password on the proxy login screen to connect to most databases, electronic journals, and e-books because of licensing requirements.

  • If you have not activated your Stout e-mail account, refer to the Ask5000 HelpDesk E-Mail FAQ.
  • Students taking courses off-campus (such as at Ft. McCoy) and those signing up for a short term weekend course often do not have Stout e-mail accounts established automatically. Contact the ASK5000 Help Desk (telephone 715-232-5000 or e-mail: ask5000@uwstout.edu).
 

Login Screen

The following screen will appear when accessing databases from off-campus. 

Login to proxy for access to datbases

 

  • Enter your Stout e-mail username and passwordand submit as shown.
    • New students use last name, first initial and 4 numbers.  DO NOT USE @my.uwstout.edu.
    • Older students use last name, first initial (and additional letters if more than one person has same last name and initials).  DO NOT USE @my.uwstout.edu
    • Faculty/staff use last name, first initial (and additional letters if more than one person has same last name and initials). 
      DO NOT USE @uwstout.edu
  • This authentication process will allow Stout students, faculty, and staff access to Stout subscription databases. If access to a database is denied, please refer to the Problem tabs above.
  • Demo of Off-Campus Access to UW-Stout Databases 

Reference Librarians

Profile Image
Need Help?
This is a Meebo instant messaging widget. If your browser does not have the required plugin you can email Reference instead.
 

Last Revised

05/01/2012