Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Psychology
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- AltHealth Watch
- Business Source Premier
- Consumer Health Complete
- Education Reference Center
- ERIC Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Professional Development Collection
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide
- Health and Medical Databases
- Health Source Consumer Edition
- Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition
- Masterfile Premier
- Medline
- PsycINFO Flash Tutorial
- PsycARTICLES Flash Tutorial
- Science Reference Center
- LexisNexis Academic
- MDConsult
- Nursing Consult
- ProQuest + Instructions
- ABI/Inform Global
- Genderwatch
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- ERIC - education
- General Science Full Text
- OmniFile Full Text
- Social Sciences Full Text
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Cogprints Cognitive sciences e-print archive.
- Cross Cultural Psychology Bulletin
- Current Psychology Letters/Behaviors, Brain & Cognition Scientific electronic journal in cognitive experimental psychology.
- Current Research in Social Psychology
- Early Childhood Research and Practice (ECRP)
- Harvard Brain
- Human Nature Review
- Industrial-Organizational Psychologist
- International Journal of Psychosocial Rehabilitation
- Internet Mental Health Magazine
- Psyche; an Interdisciplinary Journal of Research on Consciousness
- Psychiatric Times
- Psycoloquy Sponsored by APA.
- Self Help Magazine For mental health.
Nature
Nature Publishing Group provides these scholarly/peer-reviewed journals:
- Heredity
- International Journal of Obesity
- Molecular Psychiatry
- Nature
- Nature Genetics
- Nature Immunology
- Nature Medicine
- Nature Neuroscience
- Nature Reviews Cancer
- Nature Reviews Drug Discovery
- Nature Reviews Genetics
- Nature Reviews Immunology
- Nature Reviews Microbiology
- Nature Reviews Neuroscience
- Neuropsychopharmacology
At the Library
Annual Reviews
For a survey of the recent research in the field of psychology, use:
- Psychological Bulletin PERIODICALS COLLECTION on second floor of the Library
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
10/13/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait