Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Political Science
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Business Source Premier
- History Reference Center
- Humanities International Complete
- Military and Government Collection
- Newspaper Source Plus
- JSTOR
- Lexis Nexis: Academic Extensive full text legal & political information
- Project MUSE
- ProQuest: ABI/Inform + Instructions
- ABI/Inform
- Newsbank Newsfile newspapers
- STAT-USA
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Business Full Text
- OmniFile
- Readers' Guide Full Text
- Social Sciences Full Text
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Project Muse Journals Including World Politics, Journal of Democracy, Washington Quarterly

- JStor Full-text political science and social science periodical articles are available.

- Brookings Institution
- CQ Researcher

- Common Cause
- Foreign Affairs
- Foreign Policy
- Harvard Political Review
- Michigan Journal of Political Science
- Mother Jones
Political News
- Abyz News Links Connects to over 15,000 news sources worldwide.
- AlterNet Independent and alternative media.
- AltWeeklies Politics Section.
- BBC - British Broadcast Corporation
- CNN All Politics
- C-Span Online
- Fox News
- MSNBC
- National Public Radio
- New York Times
- NewsVoyageur Gateway to US and International newspapers.
- Politics Line Political commentary from the prominent columnists, updated daily.
- Roll Call
- U.S. Politics Today
- Washington Post
- The Wheeler Report Wisconsin political news.
- Wisconsin Public Radio Includes streaming audio.
- WisPolitics.com
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- Harpers
- Mother Jones
- Nation
- National Review
- New Republic
- Progressive
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
11/12/08



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait