Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Physics
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Environment Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Science Reference Center
- Web of Science: Science Citation Index
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- General Science Full Text
- OmniFile Mega
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
Free Indexes Available to All:
- ArXiv Free access to preprint papers in physics
- Google Scholar Set preferences to Stout to search for full text available through the UW-Stout Library
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Electronic Journal of Theoretical Physics

- Nature Physics Enter keywords in the search box of select the archive and view the table of contents.

- New Journal of Physics
- Physics Journals Includes full text journal access from the Institute of Physics.

- Physics Today Monthly journal of the American Physics Society.
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- American Journal of Physics
- Physics Teacher
- Physics Today
Nature
Nature Publishing Group provides these scholarly/peer-reviewed journals:
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
12/15/2008



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait