Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Performance Analysis
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Business Source Premier
- Education Reference Center
- ERIC Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Professional Development Collection
- ProQuest: ABI/Inform + Instructions
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Business Full Text
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- OmniFile
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Questions? Need Help?
When you need help for this course, don't hesitate to stop at the Reference Desk, call 715.232.1353, or select the Ask-A-Librarian button at the top of this guide and also on the library home page.
Also, here's my contact information:
Jana Reeg-Steidinger, Reference & Distance Learning Librarian 715.232.1553 reegj@uwstout.edu
Last Revised
9/08/08



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait