Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases
Use theIndexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
Indexes to Try First
Packaging and Science Related Topics:
- CSA: Paperbase/PIRA - covers topics in pulp and paper, packaging, printing, publishing, imaging and nonwovens industries; citations/abstracts only
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science FT
- Business FT
- General Sciences FT
- Biological and Agricultural Index Plus
- Social Sciences FT
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Environment Complete
- Science Reference Center
- Web of Science: Science Citation Index citations/abstracts only
- Agricola - covers agricultural/food sciences resources; citations only
- Biological Abstracts - citations/abstracts only
- Engineering Village 2 (Compendex) - citations/abstracts only
- Emerald Library
- FirstSearch: Agricola Instructions citations/abstracts only
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts citations/abstracts only
- IEEE Explore (Institute of Electrical and Electonics Engineers)
- Intute: E-Journal Search Engine free
- Knovel Library (select Search Knovel) full text encyclopedias, dictionaries, books. etc.
- Lexis Nexis: Academic
- Business Sources + Instructions
-
Legal Sources + Instructions
Business Related Topics:
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Business Source Premier
- Hospitality and Tourism Complete
- Newspaper Source Plus
- Textile Technology Complete
- Emerald Library
- FirstSearch + Instructions
- Business and Industry
- Business and Mangement Practices
- Business Dateline
- Newsbank Newsfile newspapers
- ProQuest: ABI/Inform + Instructions
- ABI/Inform
- Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Business FT
-
OmniFile Mega
Other Indexes To Try
- ACS (American Chemical Society)
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (nursing)
- Consumer Health Complete
- Medline citations/abstracts only
- Health and Medical Databases
- Health Source: Consumer Edition and Nursing/Academic
- PsycArticles
- PsycInfo
- JSTOR
- Physics Journals
-
SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
Free Indexes Available to All
- Bentham Open Access
- Google Scholar Set preferences to Stout to search for full text available through the UW-Stout Library
- OAIster
- Open J Gate
- ScienceResearch.com
- Scirus search engine
Periodical Links
- Boxboard Containers International
- Brand Packaging
- Food and Beverage Packaging
- Food Production Daily Includes food packaging news.
- IR Online Publishes several periodicals related to packaging.
- Pallet Enterprise
- Timberline/Trading Post
- Unit Load
- Pallet Profile Weekly - Material Handling Product News
- Modern Materials Handling Online
- Modern Plastics
- Official Board Markets From Packaging Online.
- Packaging Digest Magazine
- Packaging International
- Packaging News From the United Kingdom.
- Packaging Strategies
- Packaging Today Up-to-date packaging news.
- PackWorld
- Paperboard Packaging From Packaging Online.
- Pharmeceutical and Medical Packaging News
- Spraty Technology & Marketing
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- Brand Packaging
- Canadian Packaging
- Food and Beverage Packaging
- Packaging Digest
- Packaging Technology and Science
- Paperboard Packaging Full text Ebsco Masterfile
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
12/13/2008



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait