Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Multicultural Resources
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- ERIC Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Education Reference Center
- Educational Administration Abstracts
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide
- Masterfile Premier
- JSTOR
- Lexis Nexis: Academic
- Newsbank Newsfile
- Project MUSE
- ProQuest: GenderWatch + Instructions
- GenderWatch
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Biographies Plus
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- ERIC
- Humanities Full Text
- OmniFile
- Social Sciences Full Text
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Black Collegian
- Diversity & Democracy From AAC&U Diversity Web.
- Hispanic Online
- Interracial Voice
- Journal of Blacks in Higher Education
- Journey to Wellness: An Online Health Magazine for African Americans
- The Network JOURNAL Black professional and small business news.
- Nunatsiaq News
- Time Magazine Asia Edition
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- Black Enterprise
- Beijing review
- Diverse Issues in Higher Education
- Ebony
- Equal Opportunity
- Essence
- Hispanic
- Hispanic Journal of Behavioral Sciences
- India Today International
- Jet
- Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development
- Multicultural Review
- News From Indian Country
- Paj Ntaub Voice (Hmong)
- Race and Class
- Taiwan Review
- Tribal college journal of American Indian higher education
Newspapers
- Asia Newspapers
- Asia Times Online
- BlackPressUSA.com National web site featuring news exclusively from African-American journalists and Black community publications
- Indianz.com
- New America Media A collaboration of ethnic news organizations
- Newspapers on the Web Including online full text Newspaper sources:
- Newspaper Source Plus from EBSCOHost
- Newsbank Newsfile
- Newspaper Source Plus from EBSCOHost
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
06/08/2009



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait