Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Medicine and Health
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
Indexes/Databases to try first:
- Biomed Central science, technology, and medicine; scholarly journals
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Premier
- AltHealth Watch
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (nursing)
- Consumer Health Complete
- Health and Medical Databases
- Health Source Consumer
- Health Source Nursing/Academic
- LEXI-Pals Drug Guide (pharmaceuticals)
- Masterfile
- Medline Premier
- CSA Illumina: Health and Safety Science Abstracts
- Lexis Nexis: Academic
- MD Consult
- Nursing Consult
- Pubmed U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health (free version of Medline)
- Web of Science: Science Citation Index
Other Indexes/Databases to try:
- Agricola U.S. Dept. of Agriculture
- Annual Review of Nutrition
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- GreenFILE
- PsycINFO Flash Tutorial
- PsycARTICLES Flash Tutorial
- Mental Measurements Yearbook Instructions
- Tests in Print Instructions
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts
- Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews - Human Nutrition
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Biological and Agricultural Full Text
- General Science
- OmniFile
- Social Sciences Full Text
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Academic Medicine

- Annals of Family Medicine Peer-reviewed research journal.
- BioMed Central New model in scholarly publishing. Free access to peer-reviewed scholarly articles. Submit your own articles to be published online.
- British Medical Journal
- Cochrane Collaboration Evidence-based practice.
- Emerging Infectious Diseases
- Free Medical Journals Meta Site Access to many medical journals via the internet.
- JAMA Journal of the American Medical Association.
- Journal Watch General medicine articles. Only a few are free.
- New England Journal of Medicine
- Plos Medicine Open access medical journal form the Public Library of Science.
- Wisconsin Medical Journal
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- Academic Medicine
- American Journal of Medicine
- Archives of Pediatrics & Adolescent Medicine
- Childrens' Health Care
- Health
- JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association
- New England Journal of Medicine
- Tufts University Health & Nutrition Letter
- University of California at Berkeley Wellness Letter
Nature
Nature Publishing Group provides these scholarly/peer-reviewed journals:
- British Journal of Cancer
- Bone Marrow Transplantation
- British Journal of Pharmacology
- Clinical Pharmacology & Therapeutics
- European Journal of Clinical Nutrition
- Eye
- Heredity
- Immunology and Cell Biology
- International Journal of Obesity
- Journal of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism
- Journal of Investigative Dermatology
- Journal of Perinatology
- Kidney International
- Leukemia
- Moleculur Psychiatry
- Nature
- Nature Cell Biology
- Nature Chemical Biology
- Nature Genetics
- Nature Immunology
- Nature Medicine
- Nature Neuroscience
- Nature Reviews Cancer
- Nature Reviews Drug Discovery
- Nature Reviews Genetics
- Nature Reviews Immunology
- Nature Reviews Microbiology
- Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology
- Nature Reviews Neuroscience
- Nature Structural and Molecular Biology
- Neuropsychopharmacology
- Oncogene
- Spinal Cord
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Desk Hours
MON-TH 9:00am-5:00pm & 6:00pm-9:00pm
FRI 9:00am-4:30pm
SAT 1:30pm-4:30pm
SUN 2:00-5:00pm & 6:00-9:00pm
Send Email
Last Revised
1/11/10



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait