Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will be prompted to enter your Stout email username and password.
See Remote Access instructions for more details and trouble-shooting help.
Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Articles meeting this criteria are known as refereed, scholarly, academic or peer reviewed articles and are generally required for research.
Indexes/Databases for MFT & Mental Health Counseling
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions Set up an account in MY EBSCOHOST.
- Academic Search Complete
- PsycINFO Flash Tutorial
- PsycARTICLES Flash Tutorial
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide
- AltHealth Watch
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
- Consumer Health Complete
- Health and Medical Databases
- Health Source Consumer Edition
- Health Source Nursing
- JSTOR Full text periodicals in social science plus other areas of interest
- ProQuest + Instructions
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- GenderWatch
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- OmniFile
- Social Sciences Full Text
- Google Scholar Set preferences to Stout to search for full text available through the UW-Stout Library
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Once into the database, follow this path: Category > Social Sciences > MFT/MHC Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- American Journal of Family Therapy
- Counseling and Values
- Counseling Psychologist
- Journal of Counseling and Development
- Journal of Family Violence
- Journal of Family Psychology
- Journal of Marital and Family Therapy
- Journal of Marriage and Family
- Journal of Mental Health Counseling
- Journal of Personality
- Professional School Counseling
- Psychotherapy Networker
Review articles survey the research that has been done in the field, citing major authors and their works. Examples:
- Annual Review of Psychology BF30 .A56
- Marriage & Family HQ536 .A571
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
09/27/09




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait