Skip to main content

LINKING ARTICLES & FILMS IN D2L

Linking to Library Materials: Persistent Link Information

 Persistent link is a URL that will remain stable over time and allows a user to access the linked document later. A persistent link may be referred to as Permanent, Durable, Jumpstart, Stable URL or Digital Object Identifier (DOI) Name.

 

Please Note: Putting a URL through the Off-Campus Access Link Generator will not allow non-Stout affiliates to access online library-licensed resources. Only Stout students, staff, and faculty with valid credentials have remote access to library-licensed electronic resources.

 Off-Campus Access Link Generator

Databases allow direct linking to full text articles articles with persistent links.  Librarians are available to assist in locating and implementing these options!

Type or paste persistent URL here. Remember to include the http://

Use this URL to link to the article
 

 

Use the Article Link Generator to create links to articles in library databases that you can include in D2L, webpages, etc. To create a link you must find the persistent, or stable, URL assigned to the article (each database differs). Type or copy and paste the persistent URL into the box below. Click GO to generate a new URL that will work on and off campus for those with a UW-Stout account. This new URL can be pasted into D2L, web pages, emails, etc., and will prompt users for a UW-Stout login to connect to articles. Please check the link's functionality.

  1. Go to the article
  2. Find the persistent link
  3. Paste URL into the top link box
  4. Click on the Go button
  5. Copy the URL in the bottom "use this URL to link" box

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

 

1. What is the Off-Campus Access Link Generator? 
The Off-Campus Access Link Generator is a tool that will add coding to a persistent link or add coding to a DOI Name found in a database that will allow it to be used from outside the Stout campus network if it is not already embedded in the URL. Putting a URL through the Off-Campus Access Link Generator will not allow non-Stout affiliates to access online library-licensed resources. Only UW-Stout students, staff, and faculty with valid credentials have remote access to library-licensed electronic resources.

2. Why can't I just copy the address from the address bar to save a link to an article? 
Web addresses, or URLs, that appear in the address bar of your web browser may contain session-based or search-based information that causes the URL to not work later. This is especially true of the URLs that appear when searching a database. This is why many online databases provide a separate persistent or stable link in each record for an article but you may still need to add specific FGCU coding to the persistent link.

3. How do I find persistent links in online databases? 
Some databases include a persistent or durable link or a DOI Name in the article record. Please note that the terms used and the location of these links in the record vary from one database to another. 

4. How do I know if a persistent link will work from outside the FGCU campus network? 
In order for a link to an article to work from outside the UW-Stout campus network, it must contain special coding that will allow Stout users to access the article using their Stout credentials. Follow these steps to determine if your persistent link will work off campus.
Does the URL or link that you found have the word "ezproxy" somewhere in it?

  • If yes, the link is ready to be saved or shared.
  • If no, the link will need to be put into the Off-Campus Access Link Generator before you save or share it.

5. How can I use a persistent link? 
Once you have found a stable URL and put it through the Off-Campus Access Link Generator (if necessary), you can paste the URL into D2L or other documents.

6. How do I make persistent links to e-books? 
You can use the Permalink feature in the Search@UW catalog to create permanent links to e-books.

  • Find the e-book in the library catalog by searching by title or keyword.
  • Click on the book title.
  • Click on "Permalink" in the yellow bar above the book record.
  • Copy the URL from your web browser's address bar. (This is the persistent link to the item.)

Tips

  • If you do not see an example for the database that you need to use listed here, contact the library: Go to our Ask-a-Librarian page to get assistance.
  • Do not copy and paste the URL in your browser's web address bar unless directed to do so in the information presented on this page.
  • To allow off-campus users to view content, most links will require the UW-Stout Library proxy server URL as part of the link you send to students. The info for each of the databases/providers explains how to do this.
  • Library proxy server URL: 
    http://ezproxy.lib.uwstout.edu/login?url=