Last Updated: Nov 1, 2013
The body of law consists of four parts.
- The Federal Constitution is the Supreme Law of the Land.
- Legislation is the law passed by Congress.
- Regulations, derived from government agencies, administer the legislation by spelling out procedures and specifications. For example, the law says food packages must list ingredients. Regulations would specify that ingredients must be in English and in legible print.
- Court cases force the courts to interpret the meaning of laws and regulations.
The basic pattern is the same on the state level. For Wisconsin Legal Resources consult the Legal Research - Wisconsin University Library Subject Guide.
- Lexis Nexis: Academic
- Lexis Nexis Legal Sources Instructions
For help navigating in Lexis Nexis.
- ProQuest: Congressional
- American Bar Association
Look at Topics A-Z at top of page.
- American Memory
Library of Congress gateway to more than 7 million digital items from over 100 historical collections.
- Avalon Project
From Yale University, provides documents from law and diplomacy.
- CCH HR Library (IntelliConnect)
- Constitutions, Treaties, and Declarations
- Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
Excellent subject directory for all aspects of legal research.
Consolidation of links to federal, state, and local government sites.
- Guide to Law Online
From the US Law Library of Congress. Includes other nations' laws, and international law as well as US law sites.
Very comprehensive business legal site.
- Internet Legal Research Group
- Law Library of Congress
Search more than 500 legal search engines and tools for State, Federal, and International Law.
- Laws and Legal Research
General guide to doing legal research from Nolo.com.
- Legal Information Institute
From Cornell University, comprehensive site to Federal, State and International Law.
- Legal Threats Database
Free speech issues on the internet.
- National Immigration Law Center
- Nolo's Legal Articles & FAQs
Covers information on a variety of legal topics
- Statutes At Large
From the Federal Digital System which replaces GPO Access; this is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. The Statutes at Large is prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Every public and private law passed by Congress is published in the Statutes at Large, in order of the date it was enacted into law.
From Washburn School of Law; Search or browse Federal, State or International Law as well as other legal topics.
- Zimmerman's Research Guide
Online encyclopedia and links for legal researchers.