This is the "HOME" page of the "LEGAL RESEARCH" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UW-Stout Homepage University Library Homepage Ask a Librarian

LEGAL RESEARCH   Tags: legal_research  

Last Updated: Jan 22, 2014 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

HOME Print Page

Definition of the Law

The body of law consists of four parts.

  1. The Federal Constitution is the Supreme Law of the Land.
  2. Legislation is the law passed by Congress.
  3. Regulations, derived from government agencies, administer the legislation by spelling out procedures and specifications. For example, the law says food packages must list ingredients. Regulations would specify that ingredients must be in English and in legible print.
  4. Court cases force the courts to interpret the meaning of laws and regulations.

The basic pattern is the same on the state level. For Wisconsin Legal Resources consult the Legal Research - Wisconsin University Library Subject Guide.

General Legal Sites

Reference Librarians

Profile Image
Need Help?
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Reference Desk Hours
Send Email

Last Revised