Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, magazine, or newspaper.
Peer Reviewed Process: An article submitted to a scholarly journal, is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, etc. to determine if it falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Indexes/Databases for Communication and Info Technologies
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions Set up an account in MY EBSCOHOST to permanently save citations into a folder.
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Business Source Premier
- Regional Business News
- Emerald Library
- Engineering Village 2: Compendex
- FirstSearch + Instructions
- Business and Industry
- Business and Management Practices
- Business Dateline
- Newsbank NewsFile (newspapers)
- Plunkett Research Online Select > Industry Research Center > Market Research & Trends > Select Topic
- E-Commerce
- InfoTech Industry Center
- Telecommunications Industry Center
- Wireless, Cellular, Wi-Fi & RFID Industry Center
- ProQuest: ABI/Inform + Instructions SFX is used instead of Find It!
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- Business Full Text
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- OmniFile
Evaluating Resources
The use of creditable resources is the trademark of good research. However, determining an article's level of authority can be challenging. Analysis your periodical articles with the use of these:
Evaluating Periodicals Look at the differences between journals and magazine.
Distinguishing Scholoary Journals from Cornell University. Note the criterial for (1) Scholarly and (2) Substanative News/General Interest.
Periodical Links
- ATIS TechBeat
- CallCenter Magazine
- Cellular-news
- Communications News Free monthly e-mail newsletter.
- Computerworld
- Connections Magazine Principal clearinghouse for outsourcing call center, teleservice, and phone answering industry.
- Daily Rotation Links to latest tech news storied from over 250 sites.
- Educause Review
- EDN
- Fierce Telecom
- Infonomics
- International Journal of Communications Law and Policy
- Internet Telephony Magazine
- Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication
- RCR Wireless News
- RFID Journal
- Telecom Digest & Archives
- Telephony Online
- Wireless Week
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library. To check dates available, type the journal title into the Periodicals Holdings List:
- Computerworld
- Educause Review
- Network World
- Telephony
- Via Satellite
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Last Revised
09/29/09




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait