Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Illustrations
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions - Includes image collections. Choose one or more databases. Click on Images in the blue bar at the top left side of page.
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions Can use the Physical Description limiter at the bottom of the search screen to designate a type of illustration
- Applied Science Full Text
- Art Full Text Flash Tutorial
- General Science
- OmniFile
- Readers' Guide
- CSA Illumina: Design and Applied Arts Index
- Free Online Databases Available to All
There are specialized subject indexes that identify book and magazine sources for specific illustrations. Examples:
- Illustration Index REF N7525 .I448x
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
3/09/2009



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait