Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Human Development and Family Life
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- AltHealth Watch
- Education Reference Center
- ERIC Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide
- Consumer Health Complete
- Health and Medical Databases
- Health Source Consumer
- Health Source Nursing/Academic
- Masterfile Premier
- PsycINFO Flash Tutorial
- PsycARTICLES Flash Tutorial
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- ERIC
- OmniFile
- Social Sciences Full Text
- FirstSearch: CWI (Contemporary Women's Issues) + Instructions
- JSTOR Full-text social science periodicals
- ProQuest: GenderWatch + Instructions
- Web of Science: Social Science Citation Index
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Child Trends Including the Child indicator newsletter and Fact sheets; click on publications.
- Future of Children
- Harvard Family Research Project
- Informed Parent From the Pediatric Medical Center, California.
- Journal of Extension
- Literary Mama
- My ParenTime's Family Community
- Parent News
- Working Mother
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- American Journal of Public Health
- Child Abuse and Neglect
- Child Development
- Child Psychiatry & Human Development
- Child Welfare
- Developmental Psychology
- Family Advocate
- Family Process
- Family Relations
- Journal of Adolescence
- Journal of Adolescent Research
- Journal of Child and Family Studies
- Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry
- Journal of Family Issues
- Journal of Family Psychology
- Journal of Family Violence
- Journal of Marriage and Family
- Parents
- YC Young Children
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Desk Hours
MON-TH 9:00am-5:00pm & 6:00pm-9:00pm
FRI 9:00am-4:30pm
SAT 1:30pm-4:30pm
SUN 2:00-5:00pm & 6:00-9:00pm
Send Email
Last Revised
3/3/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait