Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Hospitality and Tourism
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
Indexes/Databases to try first:
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Business Source Premier
- Hospitality and Tourism Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Newspaper Source Plus
- Emerald Library
- FirstSearch + Instructions
- Business and Industry
- Business and Management Practices
- Business Dateline
- Worldscope - international company information
- Leisure Tourism citations and abstracts
- Lexis Nexis: Academic
- News
- Business Sources Instructions
- Disclosure - company information
- Hoover's Company Profiles
- Investext - company information
- ProQuest + Instructions
- ABI/Inform, business and management articles, most available in full-text
- Hoover's Company Records
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Business Full Text
- OmniFile
- Readers' Guide Full Text
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
Other Indexes/Databases to try:
- EBSCOHost: Regional Business News + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Newsbank NewsFile (newspapers)
- Turfgrass Information File (TGIF)
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- BTNonline.com Business Travel News Online.
- Frommer's Travel Guides
- Chain Leader.com
- Club Management
- Conde Nast Traveler
- Fine Travel
- Hotel Online Includes weekly Hospitality News and articles from the industry.
- Hotels
- Meetings & Conventions
- Midwest Living
- National Geographic
- Nation's Restaurant News
- QSR Magazine (Quick Service Restaurant).
- Restraunts & Institutions Magazine
- Restraunts USA 1996 - 2002.
- Meetings Industry Megasite
- Travel & Leisure
- Travel Assist Magazine
- Travel Trade
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library. To check dates available, type the journal title into the Periodicals Holdings List:
- Annals of Tourism Research
- Cornell Hospitality Quarterly
- Hotel and Motel Management
- Hotel Business
- Hotels
- International Travel News
- Journal of Hospitality & Leisure Marketing
- Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Education
- Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Research
- Journal of Hospitality Marketing & Management
- Journal of Quality Assurance in Hospitality & Tourism
- Journal of Sustainable Tourism
- Journal of Travel & Tourism Marketing
- Journal of Travel Research
- Lodging
- Lodging Hospitality
- Midwest Living
- National Geographic Adventure
- National Geographic Traveler
- Quarterly Trends in the Hotel Industry
- Tourism Geographies
- Tourism Management
- Tourism Recreation Research
- Travel Weekly
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
3/28/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait