Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Graphics and Printing
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- CSA Illumina: Design and Applied Arts Index
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search
- Business Source Elite
- Masterfile
- Newsbank NewsFile (newspapers)
- ProQuest: ABI/Inform Instructions
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- Art Full Text
- Business Full Text
- OmniFile
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Advertising Age
- American Printer
- Digital Output Magazine
- DT & G Magazine Electronic journal of design, typography and graphics
- Commercial Printing News
- Communication Arts
- FontSite
- Graphic Arts Online
- How Design
- Information Week
- International Designers Network (IDN).
- Printing Impressions
- Printing News
- Publish
- ScreenWeb
- Upper and Lower Case Magazine
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the Library:
- American Printer
- Communication Arts
- Computer Graphics World (Also in Ebsco databases)
- Design Issues
- Eye: The International Review of Graphic Design
- Flexo
- GATFWorld
- HOW
- Package Printing
- Print Quarterly
- Printing Impressions
- Screen Printing
- Visible Language
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
3/16/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait