Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Food and Nutrition
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- Annual Review of Nutrition
- Biological Abstracts
- BioOne
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Alt-Health Watch
- CINAHL with Full Text (nursing)
- Consumer Health Complete
- ERIC Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Environment Complete
- GreenFILE
- Health and Medical Databases
- Health Source Consumer
- Health Source Nursing/Academic
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete
- Medline
- Science Reference Center
- FirstSearch + Instructions
- Agricola
- Bio Digest
- Food Science and Technology Abstracts
- IBIDS: International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements
- Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews - Human Nutrition (CabDirect)
- Web of Science: Science Citation Index Expanded
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- Biological and Agricultural Full Text
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- General Science Full Text
- OmniFile
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
Annual reviews and conference proceedings provide a state of the art survey in particular subject fields. They are yearly updates of ongoing research and publications.
- Annual Review of Nutrition or print version QP141.A1 A64
- American Journal of Clinical Nutrition
- BioMed Central Over 100 open access journals in biology and medicine. Free registration.
- Epicurious From the editors of Conde Nast's Bon Appetit and Gourmet food publications. Includes recipe index.
- European Journal of Clinical Nutrition Enter keywords in the search box or select the archive and view the table of contents.
Stout Users Only! - FDA Consumer
- Fine Cooking
- Food Processing Magazine
- International Journal of Obesity Enter keywords in the search box or select the archive and view the table of contents.
Stout Users Only! - Journal of Nutrition
- NutraSolution
- PloS Open access nutrition articles from the Public Library of Science.
- Prepared Foods See Editorial - Archives.
- Resturants and Institutions
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- Fine Cooking
- Food and Wine
- Food Technology
- Gourmet
- International Journal of Food Science and Technology
- Journal of Food Biochemistry
- Journal of Food Composition and Analysis
- Journal of Food Process Engineering
- Journal of Food Protection
- Journal of Food Science
- Journal of Foodservice
- Journal of Human Nutrition and Dietetics
- Journal of Nutrition
- Journal of the American Dietetic Association
- Nutrition Today
- School Nutrition
- Trends in Food Science & Technology
- Wine Spectator
Current Awareness Periodicals
- Nutrition Action Health Letter PERIODICALS COLLECTION
- Nutrition Week PERIODICALS COLLECTION
- Tufts University Health and Nutrition Letter PERIODICALS COLLECTION
- University of California, Berkeley Wellness Letter PERIODICALS COLLECTION
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
12/09/08



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait