Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Environmental Science
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- Agricola (free from the National Agriculture Library)
- BioOne
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Elite
- GreenFILE
- Masterfile
- Academic Search Elite
- FirstSearch + Instructions
- Agricola
- BioDigest
- Web of Science
- Biological Abstracts
- Science Citation Index Expanded
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- Biological and Agricultural Full Text
- General Science Full Text
- OmniFile Full Text Mega (general)
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- ACS Journals Search for full text articles from journals published by the American Chemical Society, including Environmental Science and Technology, Chemical Health and Safety and many general chemistry resource.
Stout Users Only! - Agrichemical and Environmental News
- BioOne Access to full text journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences.

- E: The Environmental Magazine Articles from the latest issue.
- ENN Online Environmental News Network.
- Earth Times
- Electronic Green Journal Full text articles.
- Environmental Media Services Communications clearinghouse for current articles on environmental issues.
- Environmental Media Services Communications clearinghouse for current articles on environmental issues.
- Environmental News Link News digest
- Greenhouse Gas Online
- Our Planet From the United Nations environmental program.
- Sustainable Economy By Business Week.
Nature
Nature Publishing Group provides these scholarly/peer-reviewed journals:
- Nature
- Nature Biotechnology
- Nature Cell Biology
- Nature Chemical Biology
- Nature Genetics
- Nature Immunology
- Nature Materials
- Nature Medicine
- Nature Methods
- Nature Nanotechnology
- Nature Neuroscience
- Nature Physics
- Nature Reviews Cancer
- Nature Reviews Drug Discovery
- Nature Reviews Genetics
- Nature Reviews Immunology
- Nature Reviews Microbiology
- Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology
- Nature Reviews Neuroscience
- Nature Structural and Molecular Biology
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours:
M-TH 9:00am-7:30 pm
F 9:00am-4:30pm
SA 1:30pm-4:30pm
SU 2:00-5:00pm
Send Email
Last Revised
10/07/08



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait