Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for English
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
A Flash tutorial Finding Literary Criticism Articles is available to show you how to use WilsonWeb to search for literary criticism articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Humanities International Complete
- Literary Reference Center
- Novelist
- MLA International Bibliography
- Web of Science: Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Humanities Full Text Flash Tutorial for Literary Criticism
- OmniFile
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Arts & Letters Daily A service of the Chronicle of Higher Education.
- Columbia Journalism Review
- Communication Arts
- Editor & Publisher
- JStor Journals Including archives for American Literature, Callaloo, ELH, MLN, Shakespeare Quarterly and other periodicals related to literature, language and philosophy.

- Mudlark: An Electronic Journal of Poetry and Poetics
- Narrative Online magazine of fiction and nonfiction. Free registration required.
- Project Muse Journals Including Modern Fiction Studies, MLN and many other journals related to literature and language.

- Philosphy and Literature
- The Qualitative Report: An Online Journal Dedicated to Quantitative Research and Critical Inquiry
- RhetNet: A Cyberjournal for Rehtoric and Composition
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- CCC (College Composition and Communication)
- College English
- Computers and Composition
- English Journal
- Journal of American Studies
- MFS, Modern Fiction Studies
- World Literature Today
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
3/13/2009



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait