When conducting historical research you will want to use a variety of primary and secondary sources.
Written about the time period you are studying
Include books, journal articles, reviews, websites
Look for words such as "history," "analysis," "context"
Narrow your results to scholarly (peer-reviewed) sources to find high-quality research-based articles
Written or created during the time you are studying
Include articles, newspaper articles, pictures, data, letters, etc.
When searching, do not use words such as "history" or "article." Instead, use a general key term, such as "education," and narrow down the dates to find what was being written about that topic during your time period
Try to use language from your time-period. Example: "vocational education"
Do not narrow your results to scholarly (peer-reviewed) sources
For all works:
Consider the slant or biases of the original author or historian writing about it
The New York Times newspaper (1851-2013) provides researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2007). .
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from 1895 to 2005. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The magazines are scanned from cover-to-cover and presented as full-color page images. .
Women’s Magazine Archive 1 provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, including Good Housekeeping and Ladies’ Home Journal, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores. Other titles here focus on narrower topics but deliver valuable source content for specific research areas. Parents, for example, is of particular relevance for research in the fields of children’s education, psychology, and health, as well as reflecting broader social historical trends.
Women’s Wear Daily 1910 up to the last twelve months.
Complete historical archive of the important US fashion trade publication, Women’s Wear Daily. Starting in 1910 and covering material up to the last twelve months. All content in scanned in color with searchable text and indexing.
Academic Video Online: Premium is the largest and most comprehensive streaming video subscription available to universities. It delivers more than 56,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, psychology, science, technology, sociology, political science, education, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 12,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street Press.
These EBSCO databases are included in this search: Academic Search Complete, America History and Life with Full Text, European Views of the Americas 1493 to 1750, History Reference Center, Humanities International Complete, Humanities Source, History & Government Collection, Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson), Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson), SocINDEX with Full Text, Time Magazine Archive, MasterFILE Complete.
The Library has access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV & VII and over 38,000 DRM-free e-books. Search JSTOR for books, academic journals, images, letters, and other primary sources.