Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Energy
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- Biological Abstracts
- BioOne
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Business Source Premier
- Environment Complete
- GreenFILE
- Masterfile Premier
- Science Reference Center
- Emerald Library
- Engineering Village 2: Compendex
- Knovel Library (select Search Knovel)
- Web of Science: Social Sciences Citation Index
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- Biological and Agricultural Index Plus
- General Science Full Text
- OmniFile
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
These periodicals are available full text, use the Periodical Holdings List and search by journal title:
- Electric Light and Power
- Electric Perspectives
- Electrical World
- Energy and Fuels
- Energy Journal
- European Power News
- International Power Generation
- Modern Power Systems
- Monthly Energy Review
- Natural Gas & Electricity
- Power Economics: Policy, Power Markets and Finance
- Energy Bulletin Clearinghouse for current information regarding the beak in global oil energy supply and proposed innovations of partial solutions in dealing with this.
- Solar News
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library. To check dates available, type the journal title into the Periodicals Holdings List:
- Journal of engineering for gas turbines and power
Nature
Nature Publishing Group provides these scholarly/peer-reviewed journals:
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
4/13/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait