General Dictionary Sites
- Credo Reference Provides full text to 435 general and specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries.

- AbbreviationZ A to Z of acronyms and abbreviations on the Net.
- Aconyma Search engine for acronyms and abbreviations, including six foreign languages.
- Acronym Finder
- Acronym Server
- American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms In Credo Reference browse for language.

- American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language In Credo Reference browse for language.

- Bartleby.com Includes dictionaries and thesauri and other reference tools.
- Bloomsbury Dictionary of Contemporary Slang In Credo Reference, browse for language.

- Cambridge Dictionaries Includes the Cambridge Dictionary of American English, Cambridge International Dictionary of Phrasal Verbs, and the Cambridge International Dictionary of Idioms.
- Cliche Finder
- Devil's Dictionary In Credo Reference, browse for language.

- Dictionarist Online takling dictionary provides translations in English, Spanish, Portugese, German, French, Italian, Russian, Turkish, Dutch, Greek, Chinese, Japanese and Korean dictionaries.
- Dictionary.net Returns definitions from a variety of sources at once
- Dictionary of Eponyms In Credo Reference, browse for language.

- Dictionary of Sound-Alike Words Provides words and definitions.
- The Free Dictionary Returns definitions from a variety of sources, some not free.
- Foreign Language Dictionaries University Library Subject Guide.
- The Glossarist: A Searchable Glossary Dictionary Comprehensive directory of thousands of glossaries available on the WWW.
- Heinle's Newbury House Dictionary of American English
- Infoplease Encyclopedia and Dictionary
- LookWAYUp English dictionary with an integrated thesaurus and some translation capability.
- Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
- OED Online Oxford English Dictionary.

- One Look Dictionaries
- Online Slang Dictionary A collaborative project.
- Penguine's Rhyming Dictionary In Credo Reference browse for language.

- Rawson's Dictionary of Euphemisms and Other Doubletalk In Credo Reference browse for language.

- Rogett's II: The New Thesaurus
- Rogett's Thesaurus
- Rhymezone Rhyming Dictionary
- Slang Dictionaries on Yahoo!
- Slang Dictionary
- Synonym Dictionary
- Visual Dictionary Online From Merriam-Webster, access to over 6,000 images.
- YourDictionary.com
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait