Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Design and Designers
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- Bibliography of the History of Art + Instructions
- CSA Illumina: Design and Applied Arts Index
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Business Source Premier
- Humanities International Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Textile Technology Complete
- ProQuest: ABI/Inform + Instructions
- Web of Science: Art and Humanities Citation Index
- WilsonWeb + Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- Art Full Text Flash Tutorial
- Biographies Plus
- Business Full Text
- Humanities Full Text
- OmniFile
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Architectural Record
- Architecture Week
- Artnet Magazine
- Communication Arts Articles, competitions, job listings.
- DT&G Magazine: Design, Typography and Graphics
- Design News: Accelerated Engineering Innovation Archive. For design and mechanical engineers.
- Harvard Design Magazine
- Interiors & Sources
- Journal of Contemporary Art
- MetropolisMag.com
- NinthArt Full text journal of comics medium.
- Old House Journal Online
- Svensk Form
- Tiger Magazine Online art and design.
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- Art in America
- Architectural Record
- Architecture Minnesota
- Communication Arts
- Design Issues
- Design News
- Domus
- Fiberarts
- Hospitality Design
- How (Graphic Arts)
- ID (Industrial Design)
- Interior Design
- Metropolis
- Novum
- Print Quarterly
- Step Inside Design
- Studio Photography & Design
Additional Periodicals for Interior Design and Decoration
- Better Homes and Gardens
- Custom Home
- Custom Home Outdoors
- Fine Homebuilding
- Furniture World
- Home Textiles Today
- House Beautiful
- LDB Interior Textiles
- Old-House Journal
- Southern Living
- This Old House
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
4/30/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait