Constructing Assignments to Avoid Plagiarism
- Anti-Plagiarism Strategies for Research Papers Article by Robert Harris, in online journal Virtual Salt.
- Discouraging Plagiarism Indiana University Campus Writing Program, Faculty Services.
- The New Plagiarism: Seven Antidotes to Prevent Highway Robbery in an Electronic Age Article by Jamie McKenzie in online journal From Now On, The Educational Technology Journal.
Searching for the Source
Use University Library resources to search phrases from the text of papers when plagiarism is suspected.
- Indexes and Databases Can be used to check the works cited and locate the full text in periodical articles in the University Library.

- Periodicals Holdings Check for titles of full text databases to find which holds a particular title.
- Stout Library Catalog Check books cited in a paper, and locate the book in the library collection.
- Google Check for web plagiarism by using an "exact phrase" search in the Advanced Search feature. Be sure to request full text results for documents.
- Dogpile Search multiple search engines simultaneously.
- Plagiarism Sleuth Tool Use to search exact phrases in several search engines sequentially. From the Telus Learning Connection.
Online Plagiarism Detection Services
- Copyscape.com Allows web authors to enter urls for their pages and the software checks to see if the content has been used by others.
- EVE2 (Essay Verification Engine) For purchase software that checks essays against the web.
- SafeAssign By Blackboard; a subscription service that checks text against an international database as well as the web and produces "originality reports."
- Plagiarism-Finder A commercial program from MediaPhor that searches the web for matches to content in papers on the user's computer.
- Plagiarism Resource Site Free Plagiarism detection software created by a physics professor from the University of Virginia.
- Turnitin.com Subscription software that institutions or individuals can use to check papers against a database of term papers. UW-Stout teaching faculty and staff can contact Jane Henderson for password access.
Examples of Term Paper Mills
- CheatHouse
- Term Paper Genie
- essaytown.com Promises "non-plagiarized" custom papers.
- OPPapers.com Other People's Papers.
- Yahoo!: Research and Term Papers Lists dozens of sites.
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait