FINDING PERIODICALS
ASSOCIATIONSGOVERNMENT AGENCIES
HANDBOOKSSTATISTICS
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Ask A Librarian

Admin Sign In 

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY MANAGEMENT / INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATION TECHNOLOGIES  Tags: information_technology communication_technology  

Includes resources on the technical and scientific aspects of the communication and information industries and their products.
Last update: Oct 14th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uwstout.edu/info_tech  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ARTICLES/PERIODICALS            Print Page
  
 

Getting the Article...

When in a database, click on an icon:

PDF icon orFull text iconor Full Text icon = Full Text

Find It!  Links to:

  • full text in another database or
  • the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
  • the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the  library 
  • More info: Find It! FAQ  

When you have a journal title:

 

Definitions

Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal,  magazine, or newspaper.

Peer Reviewed Process:  An article submitted to a scholarly journal, is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, etc. to determine if it falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.

 
 

Indexes/Databases for Communication and Info Technologies

Stout Users OnlyUse the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.

 

Evaluating Resources

The use of creditable resources is the trademark of good research. However, determining an article's level of authority can be challenging. Analysis your periodical articles with the use of these:

Evaluating Periodicals  Look at the differences between journals and magazine.  

Distinguishing Scholoary Journals from Cornell University. Note the criterial for (1) Scholarly and (2) Substanative News/General Interest.

Periodical Links

 

At the Library

Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library.  To check dates available, type the journal title into the Periodicals Holdings List:

  • Computerworld
  • Educause Review
  • Network World
  • Telephony
  • Via Satellite
 

Reference Librarians

Profile ImageNeed Help?
This is a Meebo instant messaging widget. If your browser does not have the required plugin you can email Reference instead.


Contact Info:
715-232-1353

Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email

 

Database Access

Stout Users Only!Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.

See Remote Access instructions.

 

Last Revised

09/29/09