Clip Art
- About.com Web Clip Art
- Awesome Clipart for Kids
- Clip Art Connection
- Clip Art Gallery DiscoverySchool.
- Kid's Domain Clip Art
- WebPlaces Clip Art Searcher.
Reading and Language Arts
- LiteracyCenter.net Early Childhood Education Network; Includes a million standards-based literacy activities.
- Get Ready to Read
- Reading Rainbow Online Investigate Lessons to accompany the shows.
- Reading is Fundamental
- ReadWriteThink Project with International Reading Association, National Council on Teachers of English and MarcoPolo provides standards-based lessons.
- Teachers.net: Reading Reading lesson plans.
- COMPARE LESSONS
- All About Me - My Name is Special
- Learning Letters in Your Name
- Kindergarten KidPix
- Name Talk
- ASSESSMENT
- Assessment in Literacy University of Connecticut.
- Checkpoints in Reading
- Child Phonological Awareness Quizzes
- LEARN'S Literary Assessment Profile LLAP.
- Assessment Tools: Patti's Electronic Classroom Los Angeles County Office of Education.
- Assessment Tools Los Angeles County Office of Education.
- ASSOCIATIONS AND ORGANIZATIONS
- International Reading Association
- Standards for Reading Professionals
- Standards for the English Language Arts
- National Reading Conference.
- NRC Newsletter Online
- Wisconsin State Reading Association
- Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- Wisconsin Model Academic Standards for Reading/ Language Arts
- Douchette Index of K-12 Literature Activities Retrieve listings of possible book titles to review.
- Interactive Dialog with Educators Across the State (IDEAS) Selected, high-quality, teacher-tested resources.
- ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND PICTURE DICTIONARIES
- Encyclopedia.com
- Little Explorers Picture Dictionary.
- Searchasaurus An EbscoHost product which includes: General Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia of Animals, and Dictionary.
Stout Users Only! - READING ACTIVITIES FOR KIDS
- Houghton Mifflin Education Place: Reading/ Language Arts Center
- Never Ending Tale Interactive story collection in which reader decides the story ending.
- SuperKids Vocabulary Builders Games like hangman, Word of the Day, WhatWord.
- Webtime Stories Stories, Games and Activities, Read Better, Resources.
- Wacky Web Tales Fill in the blanks with parts of speech (nouns, etc.) to create your own wacky tale.
- Yahooligans!: Language Arts
- CHILDREN'S LITERATURE SITES
- 100 Picture Books Everyone Should Know New York Public Library.
- Book Adventure: Help Me Find a Book Search by grade level, general topic, and fiction/nonfiction.
- Building Rainbows Book Review Forum Reviews by children.
- Children's and Young Adult Literature University Library Subject Guide.
- StoryPlace Stories for preschool and elementary, including sounds, text, and extended activities.
Mathematics
- Math Forum/Teacher's Place
- A+ Math Interactive math games.
- Funbrain.com Math Baseball, Fun Match with numbers, Double Fun Match with clocks & time.
- Helping Your Child Learn Math U.S. Dept. of Education.
- Schools of California Online Resource for Education SCORE
Music
- Children's Music Web
- KIDiddles Musical Mouseum Kids' song lyrics.
- SFS Kids: Fun With Music information about musical instruments, a tutorial about the basics of music, and hear music from the San Francisco Symphony.
Nutrition and Health
- Nutrition for Children University Library Subject Guide.
- Food Science and Nutrition University Library Subject Guide.
- Idea Box Kid's Recipes
Science
- Eisenhower National Clearinghouse
- Internet Public Library - Scicence Fair Project Resource Guide
- Let's Do Science
- Science Learning Network
- Science Made Simple
- Science NetLinks Lessons, tools, resources and benchmarks.
- SCORE Science Schools of California Online Science.
- Yahooligans!: Science
- ANIMALS, REPTILES, BIRDS, FISH, ETC.
- Ranger Rick's Kids Page
- SeaWorld
- ENVIRONMENT
- Bat Conservation International, Inc.
- Cornell Lab of Ornithology Classroom FeederWatch, bird field guide, and songs.
- EEK! Environmental Education for Kids Wisconsin DNR.
- Give Water a Hand A youth program for local environmental action. A program of the University of Wisconsin - Environmental Resources Center.
- Journey North Global study project of wildlife migration.
- Leopold Education Project
- Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, Kids
- Online Exhibits from Chicago's Field Museum
- Schoolyard Habitats National Wildlife Federation.
- WatchList 4 Kids National Audubon Society.
- Wisconsin Center for Environmental Education
- EXPERIMENTS AND ACTIVITIES
- Energy and Science Projects Energy Quest; CA.
- Newton's Apple
- Bill Nye Choose Home Demos.
- Science Made Simple
- Science Snacks
- Thinking Foundation
- SPACE
- Challenger Center Online
- Live from Earth & Mars
- Mars Exploration Program
- NASA Spacelink
- StarChild
Social Studies
- STANDARDS
- Expectations of Excellence: Curriculum Standards for Social Studies National Council for the Social Studies (1994).
- National Geography Standards Lists the five themes of geography study.
- National Standards for Social Studies Teachers National Council for the Social Studies (1997).
- Wisconsin Model Acacemic Standards for Social Studies
- SOCIAL STUDIES SITES
- 50 States States and capitals.
- Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
- Earth View Menomonie, WI Lat:44.875N Long 91 .919W.
- Geography4Kids Covers topics such as Earth Structure, Atmosphere Hydrosphere, Biosphere, and Climates.
- National Geographic Kids Activities.
- Social Studies Links Keystone Area Educational Area lists by Culture, Geography, Castles, Government sites for kids, etc.
- State Historical Society of Wisconsin Badger history, lesson plans.
- WisHis for Kids (SHSW)
- U.S. Census Bureau Use to locate statistics on cities/towns (population, poverty, ages, housing, labor, etc.)
- U.S. Department of the Treasury's Kids Page Students will learn about the history of the Treasury Department and its roll in federal government.
- Virtual Field Trips: Yahoo!
- White House for Kids
- World Flag Database
- LESSON PLANS IN SOCIAL STUDIES
- Educator's Reference Desk Many social studies topics and lesson plans.
- e-Themes
- Gateway to Education Materials (GEM) U.S. Dept. of Education consortium.
- Geography Action! An Annual K-12 education program that provides excellent resources. Developed by National Geographic.
- History Course Models California Course Models for K-12.
- Lesson Plans and Resoucres for Social Studies Teachers
- lessonplanspage.com Social studies lesson plans for many age groups.
- Thinkfinity: Internet Content for Your Classroom Standards-based Internet content for the K-12 teacher and classroom, developed by content experts.
- WebQuests
- MUSEUM STUDY GUIDE EXAMPLES
- SS3001 River Guide Primary
- Life Over Time Chicago's Field Museum of Natural History.
- ORAL HISTORIES, INTERVIEWING, AND GENEAOLOGY
- Geneaology for Kids
- Geneaology.com Online family tree maker.
- Oral Histories - Interviewing Relatives and Collecting Oral History.
- Oral History Techniques
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait