Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Education
![]()
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- ERIC Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier - General interest
- Education Reference Center
- Ebsco Animals
- Kids Search
- MAS Ultra School Edition
- Middle Search Plus
- Primary Search
- Professional Development Collection
- Novelist
- Novelist K-8
- Searchasaurus - Index and full text articles for K-8
- Student Research Center
- ERIC via U.S. Department of Education
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- OmniFile Full Text Mega
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Some indexes provide access to full text curriculum guides:
- EBSCOHost: ERIC
- WilsonWeb: ERIC
- Kraus Curriculum Development Library + Flash Tutorial
Indexes/Databases for Education
![]()
- Indexes and Databases: Use this resource to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EbscoHOST
Includes full-text articles on education from general periodicals.
- ERIC Flash Demo!
- Academic Search Elite
- Masterfile - General interest
- Ebsco Animals
- MAS Ultra School Edition
- Middle Search Plus
- Primar
I/D
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait