Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Education
![]()
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals and magazines. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Premier
- Masterfile Premier
- Business Source Premier
- Education Reference Center
- ERIC Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Emerald Library
- FirstSearch + Instructions
- Business and Industry
- Business and Management Practices
- Business Dateline
- Business Organizations
- Kraus Curriculum Development Library + Flash Tutorial
- Lexis Nexis: Academic - Business News
- Newsbank Full text newspaper articles
- ProQuest: ABI/Inform Instructions
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Applied Science Full Text
- Business Full Text
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- ERIC (educational materials)
- OmniFile
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Testing and Education Reference Center
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
Many useful periodicals/journals are available via the library's full text periodical list located on the Library Serials page including Educational Leadership and the Journal of Curriculum and Supervision.
- Library Serials
- Canadian Journal of University Continuing Education
- Education Next
- Information Technology, Learning and Performance Journal (OSRA Journal).
- Journal of Career and Technical Education Formerly Journal of Vocational and Technical Education.
- Journal of Vocational and Technical Education
- Niace Selected full text articles form the United Kingdom.
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
04/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait