Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Education
![]()
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- ERIC Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Education Refernce Center
- Educational Administration Abstracts
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Professional Development Collection
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide
- PsycINFO Flash Tutorial
- PsycARTICLES Flash Tutorial
- JSTOR
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- ERIC
- OmniFile Full TextMega
- Social Sciences Full Text
- Project MUSE
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Some indexes provide access to full text curriculum guides:
Periodical Links
- Chronicle of Higher Education
- Diversity & Democracy From AAC&U Diversity Web.
- Education Week With Teacher Magazine.
- Educause Quarterly
- Educause Review
- Journal of Interactive Media in Education
- Journal on Excellence in College Teaching
- New Horizons for Learning Online quarterly journal.
- T.H.E. Journal (Technological Horizons in Education)
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
Listed below are some journals located on the second floor of the library specific to UW-Stout's education mission areas:
- The American Biology Teacher
- Art Education
- Business Education Forum
- Early Childhood Education Journal
- JOPERD (Journal of Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance)
- Journal of Industrial Teacher Education
- Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior
- Journal of Special Education
- Journal of Technology Education
- Physics Teacher
- Professional School Counseling
- Science Teacher
- Technology Teacher
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait