Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
Dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks provide general background information and identify terms with which you are unfamiliar. They are often a good place to begin research.
- Adoption Glossary
- Credo Reference Contains three sociology dictionaries, and World of Sociology.

- Domestic Violence Handbook
- Effective Communication: A Family Glossary
- Elder Resources: Glossary of Terms From Inter-generations.
- Free Resources for Program Evaluation and Social Research Methods
- Glossary of Statistical Terms
- Internet Mental Health
- Sociology Glossary
- Street Drug Slang Dictionary
Directories
- Associations Unlimited Online version of Encyclopedia of Associations.

- @grass-roots.org Community improvement organizations in the U.S.
- American Sociological Association
- Give.org Evaluates and rates charities.
- Grassroots.org Includes a Homeless Shelter Directory and other links.
- National Association of Social Workers
- Washington: Secretary of State: Charitable Solicitations and Trusts Searchable database of organizations that solicit donations from the public.
At the Library
Print resources available in the Reference Area on first floor of the Library:
- 21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook REF HM585 .A13
- America in the Twentieth Century REF HN59.2 .B43
- Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of Families REF HQ519 .B53
- Child Poverty in America Today REF HV741 .C4875
- Class in America: An Encyclopedia REF HN90.S6 C564
- Dictionary of American Criminal Justice REF HV7411 .C53x
- Dictionary of Sociology REF HM425 .D5735
- Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia REF LC189.95 .E38
- Encyclopedia of Aging REF HQ1061 .E53
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics REF QH332 .E52
- Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence REF HV6626 .E534
- Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice REF HV9104 .E58
- Encyclopedia of Juvenile Violence REF HV9104 .E59
- Encyclopedia of Rural America REF E169.12 .E5
- Encyclopedia of Social Work REF HV35 .S6
- Encyclopedia of Sociology REF HM425 .E5
- Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America REF E184.A1 .G14
- Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia REF HQ75.13 .G37
- Historical Atlas of American Crime REF HV6779 .R67
- Homelessness Handbook REF HV4493 .H68
- International Encyclopedia of Adolescence REF HQ796 .I58
- International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family REF HQ9 .E52
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences REF H41 .I58
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences REF H40.A2 I5
- Internet Predators REF HV6773 .H45
- Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia REF HQ75.5 .L4395
- Prisons REF HV 9471 .F465
- Research Methods in the Social Sciences REF H62 .R454
- Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods REF H62 .L456
- Sage Handbook of Social Research Methods REF H62 .S2758
- Social Issues in America: an Encyclopedia REF HN57 .S624
- Social Science Encyclopedia REF H41 .S63
- Social Work Dictionary REF HV12 .B37
- Urban Sprawl REF HT384.U5 U75
- Women in Prison: A Reference Handbook REF HV9471 .B365
Directories
- Complete Directory for People With Disabilities REF HV1853 .C65
- Encyclopedia of Associations REF HS17 .G332
- Gayellow Pages REF HQ75 .G39
- National Directory of Children, Youth and Families Services REF HV741 .N3157
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait