United States Patent and Trademark Search Engines
Begin by searching for a patent by topic, phrase, patent number, or use the advanced search mechanisms if you have other information such as author or would like to limit by date. You can also browse patents in a certain classification.
- Lexis Nexis Academic Keyword and Additional Terms search engine. Searches the full text of patents. Only patents that match all the criteria you enter will be found.

- Patent Database Search from USPTO Provides full text searching of patents from 1976-date, and patent applications from 2002-date. PDF images of all patent records 1790 - date can be seen, but requires a special viewer, which can be downloaded for free from the site.
- U.S. Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) Contains more than 3 million pending, registered or dead federal trademarks.
- U.S. Trademark Electronic Application System (TEAS) The online trademark application site of the USPTO.
- USPTO Includes access to the patent Manual of Classification, Classification definitions and the Official Gazette Notices; Also includes basic information regarding the patenting process, including forms.
- Google Patents A search engine from Google. WARNING! if you are serious about applying for a patent, you should also use the USPTO Patent Search Database Search linked above.
- US Patent Search
At the Library
Print resources available at the University Library:
- General Information Concerning Patents REF T223.J4 U54
- Branded: The Power of Brand Names video HD69.B7 B73x
- Brands and Their Companies REF T223.V4 A13
- Emotional Branding: How Successful Brands Gain the Irrational Edge HD69.B7 T69
- From Patent to Profit: secrets & strategies for the successful inventor T339 .D46x
- Intellectual Property: A Reference Handbook REF KF2979 .S39
- Intellectual Property in the Digital Age REF KF2995.W54x 2002
- Inventing and Patenting Sourcebook REF T339 .L38
- NTC's Dictionary of Trade Name Origins REF T324 .R66
- Protecting Your Ideas: the Inventor's guide to Patents T339 .B92
- Patent, Copyright and Trademark KF2980 .E44
- Patent Drawing Book T223.U3 L6
- Patent, Trademark and Copyright Laws REF KF3091.9 .P37
- Trademarks & Symbols of the World REF T325 .K9142
Library Policies
Interlibrary Loan and Purchase
Stout students and staff members can request full copies of most U.S. patents, by patent number, through Interlibrary Loan at no cost. Other personsneed to request copies through their local public library's interlibrary loan service. Individual patents, identified by patent number, can also be purchased from the Patent and Trademark Office or from Delphion. Some European and International patents are available in full text or for purchase from Delphion.
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait