Online Book Collection
Knovel Library
(select Search Knovel) provides a one-stop source for finding answers to science and engineering questions. The full text Knovel database contains some of the leading engineering reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings.
Topics covered include:
- adhesives
- chemical engineering
- engineering technology
- environmental engineering
- mechanical engineering
- nanotechnology
- safety
- plastics
- surface engineering
Some of the standard reference texts included are:
-
ASTM Dictionary of Engineering Science and Technology
-
Concise Encyclopedia of Plastics
-
Encyclopedia of Materials - Science and Technology
-
Management of Technology
-
Nanotechnology - Toxicological Issues and Environmental Safety
-
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
-
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Machinery's Handbook
-
Springer's Handbook of Nanotechnology
Stout Library Catalog
Use the Stout Library Catalog to identify books and media about your topic. Use a keyword guided search and then click on the Long View. You can then explore any of the listed subject headings by selecting the link. Some examples of subject terms you can use are:
- NANOTECHNOLOGY
- BIOMOLECULES
- BIOTECHNOLOGY
- MOLECULAR ELECTRONICS
- NANOSTRUCTURES
- NANOSCIENCE
- SURFACES (PHYSICS)
Quick Catalog Search
Search the Stout Library Catalog for books and media: Flash Tutorial
E-BOOKS: ![]()
The Stout Library Catalog includes links to two collections of electronic books which can also be searched separately:
Book Resources Outside UW-Stout
Sometimes the University Library does not have the materials you need. Search these resources and request:
- Universal Borrowing Search and request books directly from UW System Libraries. Try this first--fastest delivery! Instructions | Flash Tutorial
- WorldCat Search and request books NOT available through Universal Borrowing. Requests can be made directly from the catalog record.
- Interlibrary Loan Form via Illiad If you have a citation and have determined that Stout or the UW System does not have it, login and fill out this blank form. More Info
- Interlibrary Loan for Distance Learners UW-Stout distance learners have additional options for obtaining UW-Stout and interlibrary loan materials. Read this overview.
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait