Microbial Diseases
- ABX Guide From John Hopkins University, the guide provides current information on the use of antibiotics for infectious diseases.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
- Centre for Microbial Disease Alert Map
- HEALTHMap Global Disease Alert Map Provides a real-time map of emerging infectious diseases. View all disease alerts by country, or limit results to specific diseases or information source.
- Hidden Killers: Deadly Viruses Contains basics about viruses and immune systems.
- Microbiology Home Page From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
- Office of Rare Diseases Research From the National Institutes of Health.
Microbial Genetics
- Cloning: A Webliography
- Cloning Fact Sheet From the Human Genome Project.
- Comprehensive Microbial Resources From the Institute for Genomic Research.
- DNA From the Beginning Animated primer.
- GenBank NCBI Genetic Sequence Database.
- Gene Almanac
- Genetics Education Center University of Kansas Medical Center.
- Genetics Jump Station Comprehensive Site.
- Genome Gateway
- Genomes OnLine Database Resource for comprehensive access to information genome projects around the world.
- Genomics and Its Impact on Science and Society From the U.S. Department of Energy
- Human Cloning and Genetic Modification: The Basic Science You Need to Know From the Association of Reproductive Health Professionals.
- J. Craig Venter Institute Formed in October 2006 through the merger of several affiliated and legacy organizations.
- Microbial Genomics at the U.S. Department of Energy
- Omics Gateway Includes research articles, news service and links from Nature.
- Reproductive Genetics Resource Center From the Association of Reproductive Health Professionals.
- Stanford Genomic Resources From Stanford University.
- Virtual Library on Genetics Yahoo!: Genetics.
Microbiology and Food
- Bacteriological Analytical Manual Online From the U.S. Food and Drug Administration; Provides laboratory procedures for microbiological analysis of foods and cosmetics.
- Bad Bug Book From the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, handbook on food borne microorganisms.
- Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition From the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
- Dairy Microbiology From the University of Guelph.
- Food Research Institute From UW- Madison.
- Food Safety Research Information Office From the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
- Food Safety.gov Gateway to government food safety information.
- Home Food Safety From the American Dietetic Association; Provides information about cooking and storing food safely.
At the Library
Print Sources Available in the University Library
- Advanced Quantitative Microbiology for Foods and Biosystems QR115 .P45
- Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing Protocols QR69.A57 A63
- Applied Dairy Microbiology QR121 .A67
- Case Studies in Food Microbiology QR201.F62 P28
- Food Biotechnology REF TP248.65.F66 F6482
- Guide to Foodborne Pathogens QR115 .G83
- HACCP Reference Book TX911.3.S3 H33x
- Handbook of Fermented Functional Foods QP144.F85 H357
- Microbial Biotechnology TP248.27.M53 M53
- Microbial Foodborne Diseases QR201.F56 M53
- Modern Food Microbiology QR115 .J3
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait