Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Legal Research
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- LexisNexis: Legal Sources Instructions
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- ERIC Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Newspaper Source Plus
- Professional Development Collection
- Newsbank Newsfile (newspapers)
- ProQuest: ABI/Inform + Instructions
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- Social Sciences Full Text
- OmniFile Full Text
- CQ Researcher Full text online version published by Congressional Quarterly
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
Current developments in the legislative, judicial, and executive bodies of government can be reviewed in specialized periodicals.
- Congressional Record Thomas Legislative Information on the Internet.
- University Law Review Project Full text search of law review journals on the Web.
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- Congressional Digest PERIODICALS COLLECTION
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait