Alphabets
Print sources available at the University Library:
For sample alphabets and lettering styles, use the Stout Library Catalog with subjects or keywords such as ALPHABETS; LETTERING; INITIALS; ILLUMINATION OF BOOKS AND MANUSCRIPTS
- ABC of Lettering NK3600 .B5
- Art Deco Alphabets NK3625.A7 C67
- Digital Calligraphy Z43 .T56x
- Extreme Fonts: Digital Faces of the Future Z250 .D727
- Hand Job: A Catalog of Type Z250.A2 P46
- Handwritten: Expressive Lettering in the Digital Age NK3600 .H46
- Great Type and Lettering Designs Z246 .G74
- Type for the Internet and Other Digital Media Z246 .G67
- Type: Hot Designers Make Cool Fonts NK3631 .H67x
- 1001 Free Fonts
- ABC Typography
- dafont.com 8200 fonts; type in word and see it displayed in all fonts.
- Yahoo!: Fonts and Typefaces
Building Plans
Use the keyword DESIGN combined with keywords such as DWELLINGS; ARCHITECTURE, DOMESTIC; HOTELS; BUILDINGS in the Stout Library Catalog to find books available in the library.
Cartoons
Print Sources Available in the University Library:
- Animating with FLASH MX TR897.7 .M53
- Comic Book Culture : An Illustrated History NC1764.5.U6 G68
- Education of a Comics Artist NC1320 .E29
- Encyclopedia of Animated Cartoons REF NC1766.U5 L46
- Toon Art: The Graphic Art of Digital Cartooning NC1764 .W57
- World Encyclopedia of Cartoons REF NC1325 .W67
- World Encyclopedia of Comics REF PN6710 .W6
- Artist Market
- Big Cartoon Database Searchable.
- Cartoon Bank From the New Yorker
- Cartoon Factory The largest selection of animation art cells on the internet.
- Cartoon Library and Museum Ohio State University.
- Cartoon Network
- Comics.com
- Daryl Cagel's Political Cartoonists Index
- Loony Toonsville From Warner Brothers.
- Yahoo!: Entertainment: Comics and Animation
Clip Art
Print Sources Available in the University Library:
Search the Stout Library Catalog under keywords CLIP ART.
- All New Clip Art vol. 2 EMC TXT NE3000 .C65x
- Design Elements CD NE3000 .D47x
- Fashion Clip Art for the Nineties TT509 .F38x
- Letters and Numbers Clip Art EMC TXT NE3000 .L47
- Nature Icons CD NE3000 .N371x
- Clip-art.com
- Clip Art Review Long list of links by topic.
- Clipart Searcher Optimized to find graphics files.
- Discovery Education: Clip Art Gallery
- Librarian's Internet Index Search Clip Art.
- Web Clipart from About.com
- Web Clipz
Maps
Print Sources Available in the University Library:
For more titles, search in the Stout Library Catalog using the keyword ATLAS.
- Atlas of the World REF Atlas CaseG1021 .N38
- Maps on File REF G1021 .M33
- Road Atlas: United States, Canada, Mexico REF MAP CASE G1201.P2 G47
- Wisconsin Atlas & Gazetteer REF G1415 .D36x
- Map Resources University Library Subject Guide.
Signs and Symbols
Print Sources Available in the University Library:
Search the Stout catalog under subjects such as SIGNS AND SYMBOLS; SIGNS AND SIGNBOARDS.
- 1000 Symbols REF AZ108 .S54x
- Complete Dictionary of Symbols REF GR931 .C65
- Dictionary of Symbols REF GR9312 .C4413
- Dictionary of Symbolism REF AZ108 .B5313
- Elsevier's Dictionary of Symbols and Imagery REF BL600 .V74
- Global Graphics: Symbols NC997 .M56x
- Herder Symbol Dictionary REF CB475 .H4713
- Official Signs and Icons CD NE3000 .O44x 2002
- Symbol Sourcebook REF AZ108 .D74
- Symbol Signs REF TA1245 .S95
- Symbols.com
- Symbols.net
- Disability Access Symbols Graphic Artists Guild.
- Symnols in Christian Art and Architecture
Trademarks and Logos
Print Sources Available in the University Library:
Many books contain collections of trademarks and logos; search the Stout Library Catalog under the subjects TRADEMARKS; BRAND NAME PRODUCTS; LOGOS.
- Encyclopedia of Consumer Brands REF HF5415.3 .E527
- Graphis Logo 5and Logo6 NC1002.L63 G72x
- International Logos & Trademarks 5 T324 .I57
- International Logotypes REF T325 .K915x
- Living Logos REF T325 .L59x
- Logo REF NC1002.L63 E93
- Logos of America's Largest Companies T325 .L63x
- World Guide to Logotypes, Emblems and Trademarks of International Organizations REF NC1002.L63 W67x
- All About Trademarks
- CoolText.com Graphics and logo generator.
- Logo Design By Global Design.
- U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
- Yahoo!: Business and Economy: Trademarks
- Yahoo!: Government: Intellectual Propery Law: Trademarks
Web Developer Tools - With Free Graphics
- Free Graphics
- Graphics.com
- Realm Graphics
- Webdeveloper.com Graphics tutorials.
- Web Developers Virtual Library
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait