African American History Sites
- African Focus From the UW-Wisconsin Digital Collections.
- African American History and Culture Selected links to resources and exhibitions hosted by the Smithsonian Institution.
- African American Mosaic Library of Congress Resource Guide for the study of Black History and Culture.
- African American Odyssey From the Library of Congress American Memory Collection, includes excerpts from rare books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores and recordings.
- African American Perspectives Pamphlets from the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection 1818-1907.
- African American Women's History
- African Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology WPA 1936-1938 interviews with former slaves.
- Black History Hotlist Collection of internet sites.
- Booker T. Washington Papers
- Born in Slavery: Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project 1938-1939 From the Library of Congress.
- Civil Rights Digital Library From the Digital Library of Georgia; provides resources on the civil rights movement.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Guide to Black History Timeline divided by topic.
- Frederick Douglas Papers at the Library of Congress
- Gilder Lehrman center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition Provides information concerning all aspects of the Atlantic slave system and it's destruction.
- Guide to African American Documentary Resources From Cornell University Library.
- I Will Be Heard: Abolitionism in America Primary sources on the antislavery movement.
- In Motion: The African American Migration Experience From the Congressional Black Caucus and the New York Public Library; contains tens of thousands of essays, books, articles, manuscripts, illustrations, lesson plans, and maps related to black migration during the past four hundred years.
- Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute Stanford University.
- Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture New York Public Library. Includes image collection and online exhibits.
- Voices of Civil Rights Personal stories of civil rights activists.
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait