American History Sites
- 19th Century American Literary, Historical and Cultural Studies From Washington State University American Studies Program.
- A Biography of America Companion web site to Annenberg/CPB video series.
- AmDocs: Documents for the Study of American History University of Kansas site for primary documents, 1492-present.
- American Civil War Homepage Comprehensive index of civil war internet resources.
- American Founders Online Online access, in varying degrees, to the personal papers and/or publications of the major founders of the United States, i.e. John Adams, Benjamin Franklin, George Washington, etc. From the Library of Congress.
- American History and Government Hotlist Sponsored by The Franklin Institute.
- American Journeys Eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, sponsored by the Wisconsin Historical Society.
- American Memory From the Library of Congress, Is a gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.
- Today in History Describes important events from any particular day, searchable by date and keyword.
- American Presidency Project University of California- Santa Barbara.
- American President.org
- A century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873 One of the most complete collections of U.S. Congressional documents in their original format.
- Civil Rights Movement Veterans Memories and reflections; contact list.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers From the National Digital Newspapers Program. Search and read newspaper pages between 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers from 1690 to the present.
- Columbia American History Online 19 e-seminars online.
- Core Documents of U.S. Democracy Basic federal government documents that define American democracy.
- Digital History From the University of Houston.
- Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention 1764-1789 From the Library of Congress; includes over 274 documents
- Early Americas Digital Archive Electronic Texts from 1492-1820
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment Includes over 1,000 published and unpublished items from a variety of sources, including online resources and microform. Covers materials between 1534 and 1860.
Stout Users Only! - Ellis Island Immigration records from Ellis Island.
- Encyclopedia of USA History 1840-1980 From Spartacus in the United Kingdom. An eclectic U.S. History encyclopedia.
- FDR Library & Digital Archive
- First Person Narratives of the American South, 1860- 1920 Compilation of printed texts from the libraries at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill documents the culture of the nineteenth-century American South from the viewpoint of the Southerners.
- Foreign Relations of the United States From the libraries of the University of Wisconsin-Madison and University of Illinois at Chicago. Consists of digitized volumes from 1861-1960.
- Foreign Relations of the United States Links to fulltext from Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon administrations from 1945-1960.
- Founders' Constitution Primary documents that are antecedents to the Constitution of 1789.
- Gilded Age Provides primary documents and scholarly commentary into a searchable collection coverint the evolutino of society, government, and culture in the United States between 1865 and 1902.
Stout Users Only! - Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History Collects, preserves, interprets, and promotes interest in the history of the United States.
- Guide to World War I Materials From the Library of Congress.
- History - North America From Rutgers University; includes links to online historical source documents and access to electronic texts including the Civil War and African American history.
- History Matters The US Survey Course on the Web; Primary documents, teaching resources, curriculum standards. Designed for high school and college teachers of U.S. History.
- Making of America Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
- Map Collections, 1500-2004 From the Library of Congress; American Memory Collection.
- National Archives and Records Administration Selection of some of the most significant and compelling documents from the National Archives holdings. Access to important documents of American History.
- PBS: History Online stories from Public Broadcasting System history programs.
- Picture History
- Presidential Recordings Programs Recorded presidential conversations from 1940 through 1973 from the Miller Center of Public Affairs at the University of Virgina.
- Presidents of the United States Portraits, short biographies and inaugural addresses of all the Presidents, with biographical information on the First Ladies from the White House.
- Primary Documents in American History Digitized from the Library of Congress.
- Public History Resource Center
- Repositories of Primary Sources 5000+ websites describing holdings of primary sources; divided geographically and alphabetically.
- Shmoop History Beta product. Study materials written by Masters and PhD students.
- Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive Comprehensive collection of materials by and about the third president at the University of Virginia.
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
- Truman Presidential Museum & Library
- Turning Points in Wisconsin History From the Wisconsin Historical Society.
- Univted States Civil War Center Comprehensive index of internet resources on the civil war, housed at Louisiana State University.
- Wisconsin Heritage Online
- Yahoo!: American History
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait