General History Sites
- Academic Info: History Gateway Subject Guides Quality educational resources in history.
- AlternaTime A collection of timelines for history and cultures.
- Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy From Yale Law School.
- Best of History Web Sites Provides categorized links to hundreds of history-related web sites that have been reviewed for quality, accuracy, and usefulness.
- Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts Designed to enable users to find full text digitized manuscripts currently available on the web, over 1200 are available
- Digital Librarian History Resources Extensive list of history sites selected by a librarian.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online Books, pamphlets and broadsides published in Great Britain and the Americas during 1701-1800.
Stout Users Only! - First World War.com
- Historical Text Archive Comprehensive directory of historical resources.
- History Cooperative Top quality history scholarship online with some free fulltext.
- History Guide With a focus on Anglo-American history, but links for histories of all regions of the world. From the State and University Library of Gottingen, Germany.
- HyperHistory Online Collection of hypertext timelines that graphically display 3000 years of world history; Includes an index of people and hundreds of links.
- International Institute of Social History Sponsors and fosters research in the history of the working class.
- Rutgers Oral History Archive of World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam war, and the Cold War Web Archive.
- State Digital Resources Memory Projects, Online Encyclopedias, Historical & Cultural Materials Collections.
- University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
- Wisconsin Electronic Reader From the Wisconsin Historical Society and UW-Madison.
- Wisconsin Historical Images From the Wisconsin Historical Society.
- WWW Virtual Library Central Catalogue Comprehensive directory of history sites organized by countries, eras, and research methods.
- World History Archives Extensive directory of world history sites.
- World History Compass Directory of search engine including links to world history documents, archives and museums.
- Intute: Arts and Humanities Provides a gateway to historical websites
Historical Museums and Institutional Sites
- American Memory National Digital Library; Access to primary source materials in the Library of Congress; Has a "Today in History" feature.
- Center for Holocost and Genocide Studies University of Minnesota site includes virtual museum, historical documents, and extensive internet links.
- Holocaust Museum Includes online exhibits.
- Minnesota Historical Society Ayer Ojibwa Collection Large collection of arts and crafts acquired from members of the Mille Lac Band of the Ojibwa by the Ayer family for their personal collection and resale at their trading post.
- National History Standards National Center for History in the Schools
- National Museum of American History - Smithsonian Institution Virtual exhibits, resources for teachers.
- Organization of American Historians Resources for teaching history from the largest professional society of historians
- Simon Wiesenthal Museum of Tolerance Center for holocaust remembrance, the defense of human rights, and Jewish history.
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email




Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait