FINDING PERIODICALS
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Ask A Librarian

Admin Sign In 

GRAPHICS AND PRINTING  Tags: graphics printing  

Last update: Oct 23rd, 2009 URL: http://libguides.uwstout.edu/graphic_print  Print Guide  RSS Updates

FINDING PERIODICALS            Print Page
  
 

Definitions

Periodical: A magazine, journal, newspaper, or annual publication which is published at regular intervals and contains several articles

 
 

Finding a Periodical

Finding an Online Periodical

To determine if a periodical title is available online or to BROWSE the contents of an online journal:

  • Search the Periodicals Holdings List for a specific journal title
  • If the title is listed, click on one of the database links that will take you to the subscription database. Most databases will present a list by year and/or month. Click on a link and BROWSE the articles.
  • These databases are available to Stout users only.

Finding a Periodical in the University Library

Many periodicals are full text online through a subscription database; however, some are only available in the University Library.

  • Search the Periodicals Holdings List or the Stout Library Catalog for a specific journal title
  • Determine the format of the periodical (print, microfiche, microfilm) as indicated
  • Go to the Periodicals Collection on the 2nd floor of the University Library to locate them.
  • They are shelved alphabetically by the title of the journal or newspaper.
  • Paper format, bound volumes, and microfilm are located on the shelves.
  • Microfiche format are filed in metal cabinets at the west end of the periodicals area.
  • The Current Display Area highlights the most recent issue of select popular periodicals.
 

Reference Librarians

Profile ImageNeed Help?
This is a Meebo instant messaging widget. If your browser does not have the required plugin you can email Reference instead.


Contact Info:
715-232-1353

Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email

Research Help