Definitions
Article: A written piece on a specific topic found in a journal, periodical, magazine, or newspaper
Peer Reviewed Process: When an article is submitted to a scholarly journal, it is evaluated by experts in the field who examine the article's originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, etc. and determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication. Also known as refereed, scholarly or academic.
Database Access
Access is restricted to UW-Stout students, faculty, and staff. When off campus you will enter your Stout email username and password when prompted.
See Remote Access instructions.
Getting the Article...
When in a database, click on an icon:
or
or
= Full Text
Links to:
- full text in another database or
- the periodical title in the Library Catalog, if it is available in the Periodicals Area on 2nd floor or
- the Interlibrary Loan/Illiad form to request from another source if the article is not available full text online nor in the library
- More info: Find It! FAQ
When you have a journal title:
- use Periodicals Holdings List
- More info: Finding Periodicals
Indexes/Databases for Gender Resources
Use the Indexes and Databases to identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many indexes provide full text articles.
- FirstSearch: CWI (Contemporary Women's Issues) + Instructions
- EBSCOHost + Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Academic Search Complete
- Masterfile Premier
- Education Reference Center
- ERIC Flash Tutorial | Instructions
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide
- PsycINFO Flash Tutorial
- PsycARTICLES Flash Tutorial
- Lexis Nexis: Academic
- Newsbank Newsfile newspapers
- Project MUSE
- ProQuest: GenderWatch + Instructions
- Web of Science: Social Science Citation Index
- WilsonWeb + Flash tutorial | Instructions
- Education Full Text Flash Tutorial
- ERIC
- Humanities Full Text
- OmniFile
- Social Sciences Full Text
- SuperSearch searches several vendors/databases simultaneously. Flash Tutorial | SuperSearch FAQ
- Free Online Databases Available to All
Periodical Links
- Advancing Women in Leadership
- Advocate GLBT news.
- The Backlash Men's periodical.
- Bridge Development and gender in brief.
- Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy
- Fathering Magazine
- Genders
- Magazines and Newsletters on the Web List of women-focused online journals.
- Manzine from Manhood Online Better Men for a Better World. (Australia)
- Men's Voices Magazine From MenWeb-Men's Issues. Information for and about battered men, male sex abuse survivors, dating violence against men.
- MenSight: The Journal of Conscious Masculinity
- National NOW Times
- Scholar & Feminist Online Web journal from the Barnard Center for Research on Women.
- Whosoever An Online Magazine for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Christians.
- Women and Environments International Magazine
- Women in Higher Education
- XY Australian magazine about "masculinities and gender politics."
At the Library
Selected periodicals available on the second floor of the library:
- Esquire
- Essence
- Feminist Collections
- Gender and Society
- Journal of Men's Studies
- Ms
- Psychology of Women Quarterly
- Women's Studies Quarterly
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
Last Revised
3/27/09



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait