Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Any standard current encyclopedia can give you a basic introduction to topics related to gender. Look in REF AE... section for these. In addition:
- Encyclopedia Britannica

- Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia From EBSCO.

- glbtq: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer Culture
- Women and Society An encyclopedic dictionary.
At the Library
Print resources available in the Reference Area on first floor of the Library:
- A-Z of Women's Sexuality REF RG121 .K218
- American Masculinities : a Historical Encyclopedia REF HQ1090.3 .A453
- Beacham's Encyclopedia of Social Change: America in the Twentieth Century REF HN59.2 .B43
- Dictionary of Bias-Free Usage REF PE1460 .M26
- Encyclopedia of Associations REF HS17 .G332
- Encyclopedia of Family Life REF HQ534 .E53
- Encyclopedia of American Women in Business: From Colonial Times to the Present REF HD6054.4.U6 K753
- Feminism: A Reference Handbook REF HQ1410 .H365
- Gay Histories and Cultures, an Encyclopedia REF HQ75.13 .G37
- Handbook of American Women's History REF HQ1410 .H36
- Lesbian Histories and Cultures: an Encyclopedia REF HQ75.5 .L4395
- Nonsexist Word Finder REF PE1689 .M23
- Reproductive Issues in America REF RG133.5 .M47
- Sexual Harassment in America; a Documentary History REF KF3467 .S74
- Women and Equality in the Workplace: a Reference Handbook REF HD6095 .G48
- Women in Higher Education : An Encyclopedia REF LC1569 .W66
- Women's Atlas of the United States REF G1201.E1 .G5
- Women's Almanac REF HQ1101 .W65x
- Woman's Dictionary of Symbols and Sacred Objects REF CB475 .W35
- Women's Rights REF HQ1236 .W65253
- Women's Rights : A Global View REF HQ1236 .W6527
Directories
- Associations Unlimited From Cengage Gale. Online Encyclopedia of Associations.

- Gayscape Searchable and Browsable subject directory.
- Global List of Women's Organizations Directory of information about rape available on the Internet.
- Queer America Database of resources.
- Wisconsin Women's Council
- WWWomen Search Directory
Laws and Legal Issues
Print resources available in the Reference Area on the first floor of the Library
- American Bar Association legal guide for women REF KF390.W6 A46
- Wisconsin Statutes REF KFW2430 .A2x
- Women and the Law : Leaders, Cases, and Documents REF KF478 .K84
- Women's Rights: A Global View REF HQ1236 .W6527
- Lexis Nexis: Academic State and Federal statutes and case law.

- Alliance for Justice
- American Bar Association
- Center for Reproductive Rights Reports, fact sheets, articles.
- FindLaw
- LawGuru
- Legal Research University Library Subject Guide.
- Legal Research - Wisconsin University Library Subject Guide.
- WISBAR For recent Wisconsin Supreme Court or Court of Appeals decisions.
- WomensLaw.org Nationwide online resource for women and girls living with or escaping domestic violence.
Quotations
Print resources available in the University Library
- Quotable Woman REF PN6081.5 .Q65
- Famous Creative Women Includes memorable quotations.
- Quotable Women
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait