Handbook Sites
Handbooks are particularly important in food science and nutrition for accessing factual information and answering "how to do it" questions.
- A Calorie Counter
- Dietary Guidelines for Americans U.S. Depts. of Health and Human Services and Agriculture.
- - Asian Diet Food Pyramid
- - Food Pyramid U.S.D.A.
- - Food Pyramid for Kids
- - Healthy Eating Pyramid 2008 From Harvard School of Public Health Pictorial version.
- - Healthy Weight Food Pyramid, a tool for weight loss, from Mayo Clinic
- - Latin American Food Pyramid
- - Mediterranean Diet Food Pyramid
- - Vegetarian Diet Food Pyramid
- Ingredient Substitutions From UNL Extension.
- Knovel Library Full text access to selected reference materials in food and nutrition. Includes the USDA National Nutrition Database for Standard Reference.

- MedlinePlus Consumer Health Food and Nutrition Information Select from such subjects as child nutrition, nutritional support, nutrition for seniors, food allergy, obesity, cholesterol, eating disorders.
- Metric Conversions: To and From Metric
- Nutrition Care Manual American Dietetic Association.

- USDA National Nutrient Database for Standard Reference
At the Library
Print resources available in the Reference Area on first floor of the Library:
- Almanac of the Canning, Freezing, Preserving Industries REF TX599 .C4
- Bowes & Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used REF TX551 .P385
- CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition REF QP141 .B523
- Diet and Nutrition Sourcebook REF RA784 .D542
- Fenaroli's Handbook of Flavor Ingredients REF TP418 .B86
- Food Biotechnology REF TP248.65.F66 F6482
- Food Composition and Nutrition Tables REF TX551 .F662x
- Food Safety REF TX531 .R44
- Food Safety Information Handbook REF TX531 .R57
- Handbook of Food Additives REF TX553.A3 A84
- Handbook of Food Products Manufacturing REF TP370.4 .H375
- Handbook of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods REF QP144.F85 H36
- NutriBase Nutrition Facts Desk Reference REF TX551 .N75
- Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink REF TX349 .O94
- PDR for Herbal Medicines REF RS75 .P554
- PDR for Nonprescription Drugs, Dietary Supplements, and Herbs REF RM671.A1 P48
- Prescription for Nutritional Healing REF RA784 .B2483
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait