Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia From MedlinePlus.
- Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology Available on Credo Reference.
Stout Users Only! - Cook's Thesaurus Covers ingredients and kitchen tools; includes pictures, descriptions, synonyms, pronunciations and possible substitutions.
- Encyclopedia of Cheese
- Fankhauser's Cheese Page
- Food Lover's Companion: Epicurious Food Dictionary
- Food Lover's Glossary of Culinary Terms
- Gernot Katzer's Spice Pages
- International Dictionary of Food and Cooking Available on Credo Reference.
Stout Users Only! - Regulatory Fish Encyclopedia Developed to help federal, state and local officials and seafood purchasers identify species substitution in the marketplace.
- Spice and Herb Encyclopedia
- Wisconsin Cheesecyclopedia
Directories
Directories can identify product sources and provide addresses of manufactures, businesses, agencies or persons.
- American Dietetic Association Directory of accredited education programs.
- Big Baking Book Your Window to World of Equipment, Ingredients & Services.
- Cooking Schools 101
- food411.com Directory of food and food-related businesses.
- Food Master Directory to food ingredients and equipment.
- Food Industy Associations
- Food Technology Buyer's Guide
- Healthful Foods From Institute of Food Technologists; Product and supplier contacts.
- Institute of Food Technology Services Directory
- ThomasNet Food & Food Products
At the Library
Print resources available in the Reference Area on first floor of the Library:
- Bender's Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology REF TX349 .B4
- Business of Food: Encyclopedia of the Food and Drink Industries REF HD9000.5 .B875
- Cambridge World History of Food REF TX353 .C255
- Chef's Companion: a Culinary Dictionary REF TX349 .R48
- Consumer's Dictionary of Food Additives REF TX553.A3 W55
- Culinary Biographies REF TX649.A1 C85
- Dictionary of Flavors REF TP418 .D4
- Dictionary of Food Ingredients REF TX551 .I26
- Dictionary of Food Science and Technology REF TP368.2 .D58
- Encyclopedia of Agricultural, Food and Biological Engineering REF TP368.2 .E57
- Encyclopedia of Chromatography REF QD79.C4 E63
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture REF TX349 .E53
- Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology REF QR115 .E53
- Encyclopedia of Food Science and Technology REF TP368.2 .E62
- Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition REF TX349 .E47
- Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition REF QP141 .E526
- Food Encyclopedia REF TX349 .R64
- Foodlover's Atlas of the World REF TX725.A1 S59
- Guide to Cheeses of the World REF SF271 .B37
- Herbalist in the Kitchen REF TX819.H4 A57
- History of Food REF TX353 .T6413
- Illustrated Encyclopedia of Wine, Beer & Spirits REF TP503 .W35
- Larousse Gastronomique REF TX349 .L365
- New Food Lover's Companion REF TX349 .H533
- Nutrition and Diet Therapy Reference Dictionary REF RM217 .L34
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America REF TX349 .E45
- Spice and Herb Bible REF TX406 .H45
- World Atlas of Wine REF TP548 .J66
Directories
- Directory of Food Service Distributors REF HD9321.3 .D53
- Directory of the Canning, Freezing, Preserving Industries REF TX600 .D55
- Profitability in Fresh Produce: Your Foodservice Guide to Commodity Information, Yields, Portions, Handling and Receiving REF HD9225.U5 P76
- Thomas Food & Beverage Market Place REF HD9320 .T46
Timelines
- Food Timeline
- Food Timeline - Culinary History Timeline Social history, manners and menus.
Reference Librarians |
Need Help?Contact Info:
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email
715-232-1353
Reference Hours during semester:
Mon-Thurs 9:00am-5:00pm
Fri 9:00am-4:30pm
Sat 1:30pm-4:30pm
Sun 2-5pm and 6-9pm
Send Email



Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait